Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Quickreply?!?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    New York City, NY, USA
    Posts
    296

    Quickreply?!?

    I've noticed on other message boards that run vbulletin (such as http://forum.dbpoweramp.com/ for example), there is the ability to utilize a quick reply (small box on the bottom of the page) to reply to a thread instead of opening a whole new window.

    I'm just curious if this is something that could/would be implementable on this board as it makes posting much easier.
    Last edited by compwiz312; 05-04-2005 at 01:57 AM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    1,496
    Quote Originally Posted by compwiz312
    I've noticed on other message board that run vbulletin (such as http://forum.dbpoweramp.com/ for example), there is the ability to utilize a quick reply (small box on the bottom of the page) to reply to a thread instead of opening a whole new window.

    I'm just curious if this is something that could/would be implementable on this board as it makes posting much easier.

    I also find that feature convenient. I know it's possible with this version of VB, but I am not sure why it wasn't implemented (maybe for no particular reason at all.)

    Maybe one of the admins can check into it.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    New York City, NY, USA
    Posts
    296
    I also noticed one other thing at dbpoweramp's forum, " Similar Threads", shows similar threads (based on title, i assume) to the one you are looking at. Could tremendously help reduce newbie questions if they don't even have to search.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    1,496
    Quote Originally Posted by compwiz312
    I also noticed one other thing at dbpoweramp's forum, " Similar Threads", shows similar threads (based on title, i assume) to the one you are looking at. Could tremendously help reduce newbie questions if they don't even have to search.
    Maybe, but it can put a huge load on the server. Each thread opening performs an extra set of db queries.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    2,407
    It is indeed disabled. It can be enabled, though I don't know what the increased load (if any) might do. I will review the implications and make modifications if appropriate.

    I am under the impression that this will circumvent the post character limitation. This is undesireable.

    I will get back to you folks.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •