Results 1 to 14 of 14

Thread: Incorrect Information - Split from: (Walkthrough for upgrading to 6.2 on already hacked unit)

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    295

    Repairing a tivo using the wrong hardware number

    Quote Originally Posted by Jeff D
    I'm no expert, but shouldn't you tell folks to put the correct number in for the hardware they are running? 101 may work for you, but 151 is what I should use.
    EDIT: Apparently, something I did in parallel (although for the life of me, I have no idea what it could have been because I did nothing else) messed up the original partition when I ran the script, because it wouldn't boot from the original either. Apparently, this isn't always the case, and obviously, if you can still boot the tivo, it will be much easier to fix. See follow up posts for this info.

    Long time lurker, first time poster (I think, been a while).

    If you should run the script with the wrong hardware version number, and hose your tivo, which it will, not that I know from experience, because blindly following guides is something other people do ...

    To repair (Warning -- these are very general. If you learned nothing else from the experience of hosing your tivo, you should have learned to research and read before doing anything to it. Also, this assumes you didn't make a backup, which is much easier to restore from, but if you did, you don't need these instructions. 80GB of shows was daunting for me to backup, but rest assured I will in the future.):

    • Get another hard drive
    • Put 6.2 on it the right way
    • dd the kernel and root partition from your new 6.2 drive to the kernel and root partition that was created (incorrectly) on your old drive
    • Reinsert and reboot and wait the hour or so for the upgrade to complete
    Last edited by SpoonsJTD; 05-20-2005 at 12:30 AM. Reason: PlainBill's pleasant follow-up

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    295
    Quote Originally Posted by PlainBill
    Wrong!. The information is in the MFS database. The simple way is to edit installSw.itcl and reinstall using the CORRECT software number. Alternatively, someone brilliant (alldeadhomiez?) posted a script to change the mfs database; I'll post the link if I find it.

    Mods, can SpoonsJTD post be moved to the sewer where it and he belong?

    PlainBill
    Except after running the script with the wrong hw version number, my tivo wouldn't boot from either partition, making it somewhat difficult to rerun the script.

    I'm going back to lurking. I must say, this is one of the most hostile internet groups I've ever seen. Wrong? Is a hard way the wrong way? I spent three partial days getting to where I did try to repair a tivo that wouldn't boot from either partition and I thought I'd share. I feel sorry for people who need to relieve their insecurities by using the anonymity of the internet to give them a mechanism to be a bully when real life doesn't. Don't even get me started on how a threaded discussion forum is quite possibly one of the worst mechanisms for capturing evolving knowledge, especially when coupled with search mechanisms that are crippled by today's technology standards.
    Last edited by SpoonsJTD; 05-20-2005 at 12:38 AM.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    New York City
    Posts
    577
    Quote Originally Posted by SpoonsJTD
    Except after running the script with the wrong hw version number, the tivo wouldn't boot from either partition, making it somewhat difficult to rerun the script.

    I'm going back to lurking, the natives are a bit too anal, which I should have known from reading the many posts. I'll just pick up my Coke bottle and be on my way back to normal, nice folk.
    They are "anal" when you spread INCORRECT information as FACT. That is absolutely not the right thing to do. You're welcome to post, but just about the worst thing you can do is post incorrect information and make it seem like you know it for truth.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    295
    Quote Originally Posted by Thinkdiff
    They are "anal" when you spread INCORRECT information as FACT. That is absolutely not the right thing to do. You're welcome to post, but just about the worst thing you can do is post incorrect information and make it seem like you know it for truth.
    There is mechanism #1 which is easy. There is mechanism #2 which is harder but works. There must be different definitions of 'wrong' and 'incorrect' going around. I used 'anal' (which I simul-edited out, you were awfully fast) because of the ad hominem attack.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    2,149
    Quote Originally Posted by SpoonsJTD
    There is mechanism #1 which is easy. There is mechanism #2 which is harder but works. There must be different definitions of 'wrong' and 'incorrect' going around. I used 'anal' (which I simul-edited out, you were awfully fast) because of the ad hominem attack.
    3 posts.

    You've posted (#1), been corrected (#2), and tried to revise your history (#3)...

    Nice record.


    NutKase
    "God, and DealDataBase, help those that help themselves." --Shamelessly stolen from psxboy
    ------------------------------------------------
    2 each, SA S2 287hr 7.2.1a's with Lifetime.
    Hacks: 1 Manually Monte'd -140, Bash,Telnet,FTP,TivoWebPlus,
    Superpatch-67all Unscrambled/HMO,MFS_FTP Ver. N,TyTools, tivoserver
    Fully hacked SA S1

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    5,601
    Quote Originally Posted by SpoonsJTD
    There is mechanism #1 which is easy. There is mechanism #2 which is harder but works. There must be different definitions of 'wrong' and 'incorrect' going around. I used 'anal' (which I simul-edited out, you were awfully fast) because of the ad hominem attack.
    I think I should apologise for assuming you were deliberately giving bad advice. It's obvious now you weren't doing this on purpose.

    Using the incorrect hardware identifier when upgrading software will NOT cause a boot failure - no way, no how, never. Something else went wrong, causing the system to refuse to boot - obviously corruption in the software partitions. Again, the boot and root partitions on all versions of 6.2 (unhacked) are identical (except for /etc/fstab, which will point to either /dev/hda4 or /dev/hda7). All hardware specific information is stored in the MFS database.

    Copying the software partitions from a good drive to a non-working drive is one method of fixing bad software, one I've used and recommended myself.

    PlainBill
    Last edited by PlainBill; 05-20-2005 at 11:00 AM.
    There's a difference between needing help, and just being plain ole' lazy.

    "You cannot teach a man anything. You can only help him find it for himself." Galileo Galilei (1564-1642)

    HR20-700 with 2 TB, HR22-100, HR22-100, HR22-100, HR23-100 all running 0x5cd and networked.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    295
    I apologize too for my follow-ups. You are right, something else must have gone wrong. The sewer comment (about me, not the post) and the lack of sleep from having a week-old baby keeping us up set me off a bit, sorry.

    Quote Originally Posted by PlainBill
    I think I should apologise for assuming you were deliberately giving bad advice. It's obvious now you weren't doing this on purpose.

    Using the incorrect hardware identifier when upgrading software will NOT cause a boot failure - no way, no how, never. Something else went wrong, causing the system to refuse to boot - obviously corruption in the software partitions. Again, the boot and root partitions on all versions of 6.2 (unhacked) are identical (except for /etc/fstab, which will point to either /dev/hda4 or /dev/hda7). All hardware specific information is stored in the MFS database.

    Copying the software partitions from a good drive to a non-working drive is one method of fixing bad software, one I've used and recommended myself.

    PlainBill

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    295
    Quote Originally Posted by NutKase
    3 posts.

    You've posted (#1), been corrected (#2), and tried to revise your history (#3)...

    Nice record.


    NutKase
    Actually, I wasn't revising history, I was rewriting a message I posted in haste that was replied to faster than I could revise it.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    5,601
    Quote Originally Posted by SpoonsJTD
    I apologize too for my follow-ups. You are right, something else must have gone wrong. The sewer comment (about me, not the post) and the lack of sleep from having a week-old baby keeping us up set me off a bit, sorry.
    The lack of sleep is temporary. It'll be resolved about the time the baby starts college...

    PlainBill
    There's a difference between needing help, and just being plain ole' lazy.

    "You cannot teach a man anything. You can only help him find it for himself." Galileo Galilei (1564-1642)

    HR20-700 with 2 TB, HR22-100, HR22-100, HR22-100, HR23-100 all running 0x5cd and networked.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    119
    Quote Originally Posted by PlainBill
    The lack of sleep is temporary. It'll be resolved about the time the baby starts college...PlainBill
    But then the come home for the summer and want to live in your house like they did in the dorm and you still don't get any sleep!


  11. #11
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    2,149
    Quote Originally Posted by SpoonsJTD
    Actually, I wasn't revising history, I was rewriting a message I posted in haste that was replied to faster than I could revise it.
    Nonetheless, bad form.


    NutKase
    "God, and DealDataBase, help those that help themselves." --Shamelessly stolen from psxboy
    ------------------------------------------------
    2 each, SA S2 287hr 7.2.1a's with Lifetime.
    Hacks: 1 Manually Monte'd -140, Bash,Telnet,FTP,TivoWebPlus,
    Superpatch-67all Unscrambled/HMO,MFS_FTP Ver. N,TyTools, tivoserver
    Fully hacked SA S1

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    295
    Quote Originally Posted by PlainBill
    The lack of sleep is temporary. It'll be resolved about the time the baby starts college...

    PlainBill
    We just started getting some sleep from the first one who is now 3. At least this one isn't up every 2 hours during the night like that one was.

    College. Reason #148 why I really can't afford the HD DirecTivo, even at it's newly reduced cost.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    5,601
    Quote Originally Posted by justmike
    But then the come home for the summer and want to live in your house like they did in the dorm and you still don't get any sleep!

    Yes, but that stage is eventually followed by .... Grandchildren!!! Makes a lot of the other stuff worth it.

    I'm not sure which is more rewarding: Seeing the Grandkids drive the kids nuts the same way the kids drove us nuts; or spoiling the grandkids and giving them back. "Grandpa gave me a computer and lets me play on it. Why can't I play on Daddy's computer?"

    PlainBill
    There's a difference between needing help, and just being plain ole' lazy.

    "You cannot teach a man anything. You can only help him find it for himself." Galileo Galilei (1564-1642)

    HR20-700 with 2 TB, HR22-100, HR22-100, HR22-100, HR23-100 all running 0x5cd and networked.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    6,413
    Grandkids are the stage whereby the kids finally get a clue and realize that Mom and Dad really did know what they were talking about. Unfortunately for them it's too late and now they have to deal with it, much to the delight of Grandparents around the world (especially if the little tyke is just like their parents).
    Please don't PM me or any other members looking for personal assistance. You'll do better by posting (after you've exhausted the search feature, of course) and taking advantage of the collective expertise of the membership instead of a single individual that may or may not be able to help you. Thank you and enjoy your stay at DDB!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •