Thread: New TiVo Hacker needs some advice

Hybrid View

Question New TiVo Hacker needs some advice

I am new to TiVo hacking, although I have been using TiVo for many years. I just got a new unit Philips DR708. I would really like to enable some of the web/lan features. Mostly the ability to add programs to the to-do list and clean off older shows. Pulling files to my computer would be nice, but that is rather secondary. I am a software developer in real life so changing code doesn't really scare me at all. However, are the hard drive kits from ptvupgrade worth the expense.

Any other tips are welcomed.

Read the stickies in the Newbie forum, and be prepared to read (and search!) for a couple weeks before you even start hacking. You will need a new harddrive for hacking (you don't want to screw up the original).

You can check in the files forums for some of the tools. Hinsdale's guide is good for the drive copy part. You'll need to start with killhdinitrd on your new drive to break the chain of trust to add hacks.

You could also use some of the "guides" (normally written by newbies) to try and understand some of the steps involved with hacking the TiVo. I wouldn't follow them blindly though.
    There's no place like ~/

Quote Originally Posted by bfrd
    However, are the hard drive kits from ptvupgrade worth the expense.

How good are you with tools, material, and your hands, so as you can make your own, and does it seem economical to DIY, or buy the kit?
    In my position I'd build, as I have materials, tools, and skills to build my own.

Quote Originally Posted by bfrd
    ... I just got a new unit Philips DR708. I would really like to enable some of the web/lan features....

...are the hard drive kits from ptvupgrade worth the expense.