Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Hughest HDVR2 CRYPT problem

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    26

    Hughest HDVR2 CRYPT problem

    I installed Tivo 6.2 using the 3.1.5 image. When I look at the
    detailed screen it shows DSR6000 not HDVR2. Everything is good except
    when I try to install set_mrv_name_67.tcl I get a crypt error on the command
    /tvbin/crypto -x -gek

    'unable to get crypto chip's attention'

    I am not sure how to fix it. Any ideas are helpful. ADH?

    Bill

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Posts
    3,108
    Quote Originally Posted by billnbell
    I installed Tivo 6.2 using the 3.1.5 image. When I look at the
    detailed screen it shows DSR6000 not HDVR2. Everything is good except
    when I try to install set_mrv_name_67.tcl I get a crypt error on the command
    /tvbin/crypto -x -gek

    'unable to get crypto chip's attention'

    I am not sure how to fix it. Any ideas are helpful. ADH?

    Bill
    showing "DSR6000"?! um, i dont think so. if you have properly upgraded your unit, it should say "DSR7000", "HDVR2", or "DVR39" if you have a non-rid unit (you do). since all the hardware for those three boxes is identical, the specific slices which you used determines what your box thinks it is. if it says "DSR7000", then that should be fine. the crypto problem is a completely seperate issue from your model
    Step one: search button!
    Silly Wabbit, guides are for kids

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    26

    Yes

    Yss it says DSR7000. WHat can I do to fix the crypto problem? Send it back to Directv?

    Bill

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Chicago, IL
    Posts
    427
    It shows DSR6000 because that's the model Tivo that your image was extracted from, or if you upgraded using downloaded slices, you chose the wrong service number slices. Still, that shouldnt matter. Try running the superpatch62 first, then run set_mrv_name.
    Last edited by rbautch; 06-11-2005 at 06:42 PM.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    26

    super does not work!

    I did run in the right order. WHen I try to set the MRV name I get an error about crypto.

    set_mrv_name_67.tcl ttt

    bash-2.02# set_mrv_name_67.tcl ttt
    Setting nametable for "ttt"...
    Unable to get crypto chip's attention!
    while executing
    "exec /tvbin/crypto -x -gek"
    ("eval" body line 1)
    invoked from within
    "eval exec /tvbin/crypto -x -gek"
    (file "./set_mrv_name_67.tcl" line 32)
    bash-2.02#

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    26

    Does no response mean that I need a new machine?

    Since no one else has experienced this issue. I guess I need to buy a new Tivo?

    ANy ideas?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    611
    This thread (to which you have already posted) suggests that the problem is that you're loading bash too early in the boot-up process. You probably have it set to start in rc.sysinit ... try removing the line from that file & starting it in rc.sysinint.author instead.

    -psxboy
    TCD652160 TivoHD
    1TB
    11.0n.J1-01-2-652

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    26

    bash?

    What is an example bash line? I have tnlited and bash in author file... Can someone post their rc files?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    26

    OK I figured it out!!

    Actually my problem was the wrong port used in bash.

    I am using HDVR2 and port ttyS2 is the right BASH port - I was using ttyS3 by mistake. Duh! There seems to be some bad advice on this board.

    Here is my rc.sysinit.author file for 6.2 HDVR2:

    #!/bin/bash

    PATH=$PATH:/bin:/sbin:/tivobin:/tvbin:/var/hack/tivotools
    LD_LIBRARY_PATH=$LD_LIBRARY_PATH:/var/hack/lib:/lib/modules
    TIVO_ROOT=
    MFS_DEVICE=/dev/hda10
    IGNOREEOF=1000
    export PATH TIVO_ROOT MFS_DEVICE IGNOREEOF LD_LIBRARY_PATH

    [ -x /etc/netfilter-disable ] && /etc/netfilter-disable

    /bin/bash </dev/ttyS2 >& /dev/ttyS2 &

    # uname -a to check kernel and get the backport ones http://www.dealdatabase.com
    /forum/showthread.php?t=38167
    #Load ethernet drivers USB 2
    insmod /lib/modules/usbcore.o
    insmod /lib/modules/usb-ohci.o
    insmod /lib/modules/usbnet.o
    sleep 10

    #configure ethernet
    ifconfig eth0 192.168.2.4 broadcast 192.168.0.255 netmask 255.255.255.0
    route add default gw 192.168.2.1
    # Mothership
    #route add -host 204.176.49.2 gw 127.0.0.1
    #route add -net 204.176.49.0 gw 127.0.0.1 netmask 255.255.255.0
    sleep 60

    #telnet
    /sbin/tnlited 23 /bin/bash -login &

    #/var/mfs_ftp/mfs_ftp.tcl &
    /var/hack/bin/tivoftpd &

    /var/hack/mfs_bin/tserver &

    bash-2.02#
    bash-2.02#

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    1,495
    Quote Originally Posted by billnbell
    Actually my problem was the wrong port used in bash.

    I am using HDVR2 and port ttyS2 is the right BASH port - I was using ttyS3 by mistake. Duh! There seems to be some bad advice on this board.
    If you believe there is incorrect information, you should link to it so it can be determined if it is inaccurate and then fixed.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •