Thread: Need A dual drive DSR6000 image!

sirius Guest

Unhappy Need A dual drive DSR6000 image!

While I'm a bit new to Tivo... I'm an old hat at Linux and DTV. Somehow (not sure how) I've managed to make my Tivo not boot -- gets stuck at "Welcome... Powering up". Undoing all my hacks via Linux gets me nowhere, so I'm thinking the Kernel or Bootstrap images got corrupted. It is a from-the-factory dual drive setup (30GB and 15GB). Can someone send me, or send me a URL, a working backup so I can get back to TV! Or... tell me how to use the 40GB image I see on ftp.abs.net. Obviously, I'd LIKE to have a 2.0.1 image, but I'll take anything that will work at this point... I just want to watch TV!

BTW -- how would I have screwed up the boot by simply mounting in Linux and editing rc.sysinit for ppp via serial and occassionally deleting my logs? I'm shocked it stopped working -- I've been SOO careful (well, except for that whole make-a-backup thing!)

Email me with some help! jkeyte@telocity.com

Thanks.

Re: Need A dual drive DSR6000 image!

Originally posted by sirius
    BTW -- how would I have screwed up the boot by simply mounting in Linux and editing rc.sysinit for ppp via serial and occassionally deleting my logs? I'm shocked it stopped working -- I've been SOO careful (well, except for that whole make-a-backup thing!)
    ANY stray character or other typo inside the rc.sysinit file will cause it to halt at the bad instruction. What my be simpler is to just replace the rc.sysinit file with a virgin copy and start your hacks over. If your editor didn't make a usable backup of the file before you edited it let me know and I'll send you one. Probably a lot quicker fix than a full restore! (In fact, you should be able to simply turn-OFF the "imutable" bit on the files you've altered and the system will replace them with originals when you boot it back up -- I had to do this once myself!)

-Surgeon-

sirius Guest