Page 7 of 7 FirstFirst ... 567
Results 91 to 105 of 105

Thread: TuikRes 6.2 Standby

  1. #91
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    5
    No, I did not use Superpatch to hack my drive, I used a different method (using dd to edit tivoapp directly). I did use your script to edit the menu, and then I ran into the problem after stepping through a in-place upgrade to 6.3c. After posting in the series 2 forum I realized that originally I modified the menu and decided to run your script on my upgraded 6.3c. I guessed that the new tivoapp was not handling the modified (hacked) menu. I also used TuikRes to modify other things like the last day notice on the Tivo Central screen.

  2. #92
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    114
    Has anyone tried Superpatch67Standby.tcl on 6.3d? My efforts failed with the "already set, skipping" message but no change in the ui.

  3. #93
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Providence, RI
    Posts
    484

    6.2a

    Is there a definitive answer as to whether it works with 6.2a? The only post I've seen mentions a complete reinstall, and a clear and delete everything. I'm just wondering if that was an isolated incident.

  4. #94
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Saugus, CA
    Posts
    10
    I've used it on 5 different boxes with no problems. I have used this option in all cases:
    Code:
    Superpatch67Standby.tcl default

  5. #95
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Providence, RI
    Posts
    484

    Perfect

    Thanks, that went through without a hitch!

    Quote Originally Posted by SteelersFan View Post
    I've used it on 5 different boxes with no problems. I have used this option in all cases:
    Code:
    Superpatch67Standby.tcl default

  6. #96
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Planet Earth (mostly)
    Posts
    137

    6.4a issue finding TivoCentralDocument.brf

    I am having a strange issue. It appears that the tivo cannot find TivoCentralDocument.brf on the system. I also just tried the command to export it manually and it failed too. Any ideas why?

    Here is the exact error:
    Code:
    HDVR2-41-Basement-TiVo# ./Superpatch67Standby.tcl restore
    Restore to TiVo defaults
    Current Software Version: 6.4a-01-2-151
    Adding Music & Photos in TiVo (DIRECTV) Central
      Searching for ui/TivoCentral/TivoCentralDocument.brf
      Error: Failed to find ui/TivoCentral/TivoCentralDocument.brf
    Ideas? (oh, and yes, I did make sure to make the change to allow the version.)

  7. #97
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Dougal County
    Posts
    1,007
    Quote Originally Posted by Ellipse View Post
    Ideas? (oh, and yes, I did make sure to make the change to allow the version.)
    you must have mis-edited something. it needs to be looking for TivoCentral.brf not TivoCentralDocument.brf.

  8. #98
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Planet Earth (mostly)
    Posts
    137
    Quote Originally Posted by jt1134 View Post
    you must have mis-edited something. it needs to be looking for TivoCentral.brf not TivoCentralDocument.brf.
    It appears that I missed one spot changing == to >= in the script. DOH!

    Thanks for pointing it out to me. (crawling back to the corner....)

  9. #99
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    San Francisco
    Posts
    7
    Quote Originally Posted by Ellipse View Post
    It appears that I missed one spot changing == to >= in the script. DOH!

    Thanks for pointing it out to me. (crawling back to the corner....)
    So is there an updated version for 6.4a?
    Thanks.

  10. #100
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Dougal County
    Posts
    1,007
    Quote Originally Posted by justedward View Post
    So is there an updated version for 6.4a?
    no, but you can easily modify it yourself.

  11. #101
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    San Francisco
    Posts
    7
    Quote Originally Posted by jt1134 View Post
    no, but you can easily modify it yourself.
    Got it, thanks.

  12. #102
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    1
    I have the exact same issue as Ellipse. However I do not know where in the script that I need to edit. Can someone post an updated script that will work with version 6.4a?

    Thanks

  13. #103
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    7
    Quote Originally Posted by saylestock View Post
    I have the exact same issue as Ellipse. However I do not know where in the script that I need to edit. Can someone post an updated script that will work with version 6.4a?

    Thanks
    I can't post an updated script, but from what I understand, you need to edit the script and look for the following.

    Under the line

    # Modify Music & Photos in TiVo (DIRECTV) Central

    Look for where it says

    if { [string range $SwVer 0 2] == "6.3" }

    And replace with

    if { [string range $SwVer 0 2] >= "6.3" }

    Do the same under the other "Modify...." sections.

    A couple of reminders...
    If you do this on a Windows machine, be sure to transfer the file in binary mode via FTP.

    Run dos2unix on the file directly on your tivo.

    chmod 755 on the file to make it executable.

  14. #104
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    7
    When executing ./Superpatch67Standby.tcl default I get the following output.

    Using default settings +tcs -mss -sbt
    Current Software Version: 6.4a-01-2-101
    Adding Standby in TiVo (DIRECTV) Central
    Searching for ui/TivoCentral/TivoCentral.brf
    Removing Standby in Messages & Setup
    Searching for ui/MainMenu/TvSettingsMainMenu.brf
    Error processing TvSettingsMainMenu.brf!

    This is on a newly upgraded DSR7000 to 6.4a which doesn't have Standby in Messages and Setup by default. Is that the reason for the error, or is there a different file name that it should be searching for?

    I don't know if it worked yet because I can't reboot at the moment (currently recording a program).

  15. #105
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    1

    fixed scripts for 6.4a

    I know it was pretty easy but for those of you who need it I updated the scripts as described in earlier posts. I just changed the == to >=.

    For my HR10-250 running 6.4a it brought standby back to TiVo central and put in Search by Title(Demo). But, it failed to add Standby to the Messages and Settings and even though I already had the Music and Photos in Tivo Central it choked on the script. Here's the messages:

    1st try:

    bash-2.02#Superpatch67Standby.tcl +mnp +tcs +mss +sbt
    Current Software Version: 6.4a-01-2-357
    Adding Music & Photos in TiVo (DIRECTV) Central
    Searching for ui/TivoCentral/TivoCentral.brf
    Error processing TivoCentral.brf!
    bash-2.02#

    2nd try: (without +mnp switch)

    bash-2.02# S superpatch67Standby.tcl +tcs +mss +sbt
    Current Software Version: 6.4a-01-2-357
    Adding Standby in TiVo (DIRECTV) Central
    Searching for ui/TivoCentral/TivoCentral.brf
    Already Set, Skipping.
    Adding Standby in Messages & Setup
    Searching for ui/MainMenu/TvSettingsMainMenu.brf
    Already Set, Skipping.
    Adding Search by Title (Demo) from Pick programs to Record
    Searching for ui/PickPrograms/PickPrograms.brf
    Already Set, Skipping.
    Done!
    bash-2.02#

    (Notice they are skipped because I ran the script a second time to get the messages.)

    Thanks TivoWare
    Attached Files Attached Files

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •