Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: BRF importing

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    594

    BRF importing

    Seen how my post was deleted in the development forum and there are no BRF support threads. I guess I will ask here. How does one insert a modified UI BRF file back inot the database. Does the object thats there need to be removed first, or does inserting these files override the file in the db. Will mfs_import do this. Has anyone tried this? Any success?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    2,402
    Quote Originally Posted by darrin75
    Seen how my post was deleted in the development forum and there are no BRF support threads. I guess I will ask here. How does one insert a modified UI BRF file back inot the database. Does the object thats there need to be removed first, or does inserting these files override the file in the db. Will mfs_import do this. Has anyone tried this? Any success?
    Why not try it, find out, and post the results in the development forum when you've got some information to add? I think the development forum is for posting solutions, not asking for someone to develop for you.

    ew

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    594
    Not asking for any development for me. I know it was my fault that i posted there. I should not have. I am just curious if anyone has had any sucess doing this, and what they used to import the brf into the db. I am I asking to much here. I sure don't think so..

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Sonoran Desert
    Posts
    2,823
    You can do it one of two ways; either use tomfs or mfs allocate combined with mfs_import. The later is less likely to trigger an mfs assert.

    EDIT: er, thats mfs allocate, not mfs streamcreate, using that would be bad mmkay.
    Last edited by AlphaWolf; 07-17-2005 at 04:54 PM.
    Before PMing me: Iím not your personal tech support. If you have a question, ask in public so I don't have to repeat if somebody else asks. If you want images or slices, use emule. I will ignore all support PMs.

    Sponsor a vegetarian! I have taken the pledge, how about you?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    594

    Maybe a little help AlphaWolf

    Here what i am starting with..
    Attached Files Attached Files

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    2,407
    The latest bufferhack does it. Read through the code.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    West of Bermuda
    Posts
    1,021
    ok, following the clues in this thread, i've located the .brf that contains the "DIRECTV Central" title that appears at the top of the "now playing" screen in 6.2. i extracted it, changed the title, then re-inserted it. i can then extract the file and see that my changes are indeed in place, but the title doesn't change, even after a reboot.

    in 3.x, we had to remove the "CompressedFile" object; is there something like this in 6.2?

    btw, the path to the proper .brf is:
    Code:
    /TuikRes/SHA1/3BF30A5247CB8AB478BADFBA19E4ADAD292D1126:000294fd
    edit: by the way, i do know that i'm on the right track (and am looking at ther right .brf) because i hexedited partition 10 to change it initially, and that change *does* show up. however, i had to change it in two places, so this is what led me to believe that there may be a compressedfile thing somewhere.

    ronny
    Last edited by ronnythunder; 07-28-2005 at 01:08 AM.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    594
    I have seen a compressed file in there. Just can not remember where. Searching now..

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •