Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: newbie confuse

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    55

    newbie confuse

    Hello guys, great forum.Ive been doing alot of reading and im a little confused my TIVO is on version 3.1.1 and completely stock,would like an advise on what should i do 1st,should i update to 4.x or 6.2 or should i use Sleepers before i update?

    Thanks


    BTW Im a rookie at this tivo thing but i got experience in other modding fields so im pretty confident ill get the hang of this quick and will stop asking stupid questions
    ________
    Chrysler Saratoga
    Last edited by F1 Fan; 02-22-2011 at 04:09 AM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    New York City
    Posts
    577
    Don't use sleepers, let the tivo upgrade itself to 6.2. Should happen overnight soon. Then hack 6.2.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    55
    should i turn it off or should i leave it on,its there anything i should do so it will update?it got activated 2 days ago so its only been in the stream for a couple of days

    BTW Thanks alot for your responce.

    One more question,Once it updates to 6.2 i should use Killhdinitrd patch right?

    Thanks again
    ________
    TOYOTA MARK X SPECIFICATIONS
    Last edited by F1 Fan; 02-22-2011 at 04:09 AM.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Gurnee, IL
    Posts
    2,384
    Quote Originally Posted by F1 Fan
    One more question,Once it updates to 6.2 i should use Killhdinitrd patch right?
    That's where you start, yeah...replace the kernel with a killhdinitrd'd 3.1.5 kernel and you can begin hacking.
    --
    Christopher D. Heer
    Quote Originally Posted by Oscar Wilde
    Perhaps, after all, America never has been discovered. I myself would say that it had merely been detected.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    55
    Thanks alot


    I guess im just going to keep reading and getting any tools and patches that i need for when my tivo takes the 6.2 update which could take a few days from what i read so far.

    Once again Thank you for clearing that out for me
    ________
    FORD EXCURSION HISTORY
    Last edited by F1 Fan; 02-22-2011 at 04:09 AM.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Gurnee, IL
    Posts
    2,384
    Quote Originally Posted by F1 Fan
    Thanks alot


    I guess im just going to keep reading and getting any tools and patches that i need for when my tivo takes the 6.2 update which could take a few days from what i read so far.

    Once again Thank you for clearing that out for me
    No problem.

    I posted a list of the steps here . Note that this is not a guide (because guides cause more problems than they solve) so much as a map. You can focus your reading on the various steps to get a better understanding of the process.
    --
    Christopher D. Heer
    Quote Originally Posted by Oscar Wilde
    Perhaps, after all, America never has been discovered. I myself would say that it had merely been detected.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    55
    who needs a guide with that link?


    Thank You Once Again
    ________
    MARIO ANDRETTI
    Last edited by F1 Fan; 02-22-2011 at 04:10 AM.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    39
    Before I hacked my Hughes HDVR2, I had version 6.2 which was automatically installed. However, due to the difficulty in setting up a wireless card with WEP encryption, I decided to first install 4.x and then upgrade to 6.2 with slices. You can hack the 6.2 easily enough, but if you plan on using a wireless card, you might think about going to 4.x first so you can set up wireless within the menu.

    Others are working on a way to add a wireless card with WEP without the menu, but it seemed pretty complicated to me.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    55
    Quote Originally Posted by mnrbradley
    Before I hacked my Hughes HDVR2, I had version 6.2 which was automatically installed. However, due to the difficulty in setting up a wireless card with WEP encryption, I decided to first install 4.x and then upgrade to 6.2 with slices. You can hack the 6.2 easily enough, but if you plan on using a wireless card, you might think about going to 4.x first so you can set up wireless within the menu.

    Others are working on a way to add a wireless card with WEP without the menu, but it seemed pretty complicated to me.
    Well that puts a spin on my situation, cause im planning on using a wireless adapter.Can anyone else elaborate on this?what other options do i have if i go through we the 6.2 update,how could i set up the wireless adapter?

    Thanks


    BTW Thank you for pointing that out to me
    ________
    PENNY STOCK PICK
    Last edited by F1 Fan; 02-22-2011 at 04:10 AM.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Gurnee, IL
    Posts
    2,384
    Quote Originally Posted by F1 Fan
    Well that puts a spin on my situation, cause im planning on using a wireless adapter.Can anyone else elaborate on this?what other options do i have if i go through we the 6.2 update,how could i set up the wireless adapter?
    Check here.
    --
    Christopher D. Heer
    Quote Originally Posted by Oscar Wilde
    Perhaps, after all, America never has been discovered. I myself would say that it had merely been detected.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    55
    that would have to do for now

    Thanks again cheers
    ________
    Starcraft Ii Replays
    Last edited by F1 Fan; 02-22-2011 at 04:10 AM.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •