Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Upgraded DTivo not reporting correct space?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    12

    Upgraded DTivo not reporting correct space?

    Hi all,
    After lots of reading I have successfully hacked and networked my DTivo, and the last thing I wanted to do before I start using it regularly was to add more space by adding a 2nd hard drive. I used MFSTools and added a 160 GB HD to the existing 80 GB one, and after doing the mfsadd command, it reported about 240 hours, which sounded right.
    Now I put the drives back in the Tivo and booted it up, and the System Information Screen under Setup now says: Variable, up to 187 hours. That sounds a bit low, but might be OK. What worries more is the under TivoWebPlus, the Info screen reports only 205 MBytes, for about 193 total hours of space. This does not sound correct, it should be closer to 240 Gbytes, 80 + 160. Any idea what is going on?

    I have pasted below the info from the TivoWebPlus info screen, incase it helps to illuminate the issue. Thanks in advance.




    File System/Disk Information

    Filesystem Type Size Used Avail Capacity Mounted on
    /dev/hda4 ext2 124M 118M 0 100% /
    /dev/hda9 ext2 124M 11M 106M 10% /var

    /dev/hda:
    multcount = 16 (on)
    I/O support = 0 (default 16-bit)
    using_dma = 1 (on)
    readahead = 8 (on)
    geometry = 23989/16/63, sectors = 156301488, start = 0
    drive state is: active/idle

    Device: WDC WD800BB-55JKA0 Supports ATA Version 6
    Check S.M.A.R.T. Passed

    /dev/hdb:
    multcount = 16 (on)
    I/O support = 0 (default 16-bit)
    using_dma = 1 (on)
    readahead = 8 (on)
    geometry = 20023/255/63, sectors = 321672960, start = 0
    drive state is: active/idle

    Device: HDT722516DLAT80 Supports ATA Version 7
    Check S.M.A.R.T. Passed

    User Space
    Single 3 7011 MB 3.4% 4:30:00
    Season Pass 2 2593 MB 1.3% 2:30:00
    Invisible 1 151 MB 0.1% 0:02:55
    Live Cache 2 512 MB 0.2% 0:12:00
    Used User Space 8 10267 MB 5.0% 7:14:55
    Reserved Space
    Expired Tivo Clips 18 2925 MB 1.4% 2:07:00
    Used Reserved Space 18 2925 MB 1.4% 2:07:00
    Space Summary
    Total Space - 205894 MB 100.0% 193:57:24
    Total Used 26 13192 MB 6.4% 9:21:55
    Total Free - 192702 MB 93.6% 181:31:46
    Deleted** 46 52243 MB 25.4% 51:54:00

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    5,601
    What software is your DirecTiVo running, and what tools cd did you use to expand the drive? It LOOKS like you have an LBA-48 issue. What does pdisk -l /dev/hda and pdisk -l /dev/hdb show?

    PlainBill
    There's a difference between needing help, and just being plain ole' lazy.

    "You cannot teach a man anything. You can only help him find it for himself." Galileo Galilei (1564-1642)

    HR20-700 with 2 TB, HR22-100, HR22-100, HR22-100, HR23-100 all running 0x5cd and networked.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    2,402
    Quote Originally Posted by PlainBill
    What software is your DirecTiVo running, and what tools cd did you use to expand the drive? It LOOKS like you have an LBA-48 issue. What does pdisk -l /dev/hda and pdisk -l /dev/hdb show?

    PlainBill
    And this may or may not cause serious problems when your DTiVo tries to write to the "extra" part of the disk (if it does).

    ew

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    12
    Thanks for the help guys, here are the outputs of pdisk. It is running 6.2, by the way and I used MFSTools 2.0 to add space using mfsadd. I followed the directions at http://tivo.upgrade-instructions.com.

    Is it a LBA48 issue?

    bash-2.02# pdisk -l /dev/hda

    Partition map (with 512 byte blocks) on '/dev/hda'
    #: type name length base ( size )
    1: Apple_partition_map Apple 63 @ 1
    2: Image Bootstrap 1 1 @ 85965834
    3: Image Kernel 1 8192 @ 85965835 ( 4.0M)
    4: Ext2 Root 1 262144 @ 85974027 (128.0M)
    5: Image Bootstrap 2 1 @ 86236171
    6: Image Kernel 2 8192 @ 86236172 ( 4.0M)
    7: Ext2 Root 2 262144 @ 86244364 (128.0M)
    8: Swap Linux swap 131072 @ 86506508 ( 64.0M)
    9: Ext2 /var 262144 @ 86637580 (128.0M)
    10: MFS MFS application region 1048576 @ 86899724 (512.0M)
    11: MFS MFS media region 67304612 @ 88996876 ( 32.1G)
    12: MFS MFS application region 2 1048576 @ 87948300 (512.0M)
    13: MFS MFS media region 2 85965770 @ 64 ( 41.0G)

    bash-2.02# pdisk -l /dev/hdb

    Partition map (with 512 byte blocks) on '/dev/hdb'
    #: type name length base ( size )
    1: Apple_partition_map Apple 63 @ 1
    2: MFS New MFS Application 1024 @ 64
    3: MFS New MFS Media 268402688 @ 1088 (128.0G)
    4: Apple_Free Extra 31679 @ 268403776 ( 15.5M)

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    5,601
    Yes, definitely caused by adding the new drive while booting from a non-LBA-48 cd. There is an LBA-48 version of the MFS tools cd, or I recommend the free PTVupgrade LBA-48 ver 4.01 cd. If booting from the LBA-48 cd and running mfsadd does not give you the extra space, it will be necessary to delete the partitions on the 160 Gig drive and recreate them.

    The process would go something like this: Boot from the lba-48 cd. Verify Linux recognises the full capacity of the drive while booting. Use pdisk in interactive mode to delete the partitions, write this to the drive! Shut down, restart, run pdisk again and recreate the partitions EXACTLY as they were before. NOW you should have a (roughly) 20 Gig Apple Free partition. Now run mfsadd.

    PlainBill
    There's a difference between needing help, and just being plain ole' lazy.

    "You cannot teach a man anything. You can only help him find it for himself." Galileo Galilei (1564-1642)

    HR20-700 with 2 TB, HR22-100, HR22-100, HR22-100, HR23-100 all running 0x5cd and networked.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    12
    OK, I already have a PTVupgrade LBA48 4.01 with Enhancements CD that I bought for $5 and used to do my modifications for networking. This CD will work, right?

    Can I just take out the 2 drives, connect them to my PC, boot up with this CD, and redo the msfadd command and hope for the best? How will know if it worked or not?

    I am not much of a Linux person, so your description of what to do is a bit beyond me, as I have not done any partition work. Would another option be to wipe out the drive completely (in Windows, using disk utilities) before I redo this?

    One final question: is there something like a mfs_remove that one can do to remove a 2nd hard drive, or is that not needed?

    Thanks so much for your help, plainbill, it is highly appreciated.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    5,601
    The cd you mention would work very well.

    As a first step, do try running mfsadd after booting with the new cd. pdisk -l /dev/hdc will tell you if it worked.

    Do NOT wipe the new drive - your TiVo won't boot. I'm not aware of any 'remove' utility.

    Note that you do have about 210-220 gig of the 240 total available. Saying "Aw shucks" and using it as is IS a viable option.

    PlainBill
    There's a difference between needing help, and just being plain ole' lazy.

    "You cannot teach a man anything. You can only help him find it for himself." Galileo Galilei (1564-1642)

    HR20-700 with 2 TB, HR22-100, HR22-100, HR22-100, HR23-100 all running 0x5cd and networked.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    12
    OK, I will try running mfsadd with the new CD.

    I am quite willing to keep it the way it is, but got a bit worried by eastwinds comment that I might have trouble when it tries to write to the to the "extra" part of the disk. Is there anything to that concern?

    so wiping the 160 GB drive clean using disk utilities and redoing the mfsadd with the good CD will not work? Can you explain why not? I would have thought it might, and I am trying to learn things here while I go along. Which is another reason to NOT just keep it as is, but try to go further with it.

    Thanks again for the help.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    5,601
    The problem occurs when a drive larger than 137 Gig is initialized using a tools cd that supports LBA-48 addressing, then used in a system that does not support LBA-48. At some point the system will try to address a point beyond the 137 gig barrier, but will 'wrap around' and actually write to the first sector on the drive - where the partition information is. Presto! A trashed drive.

    That is not a problem in this case. The MFStools 2.0 cd can only 'see' the first 137 Gig of the drive; the TiVo could 'see' all of it, but won't try to write to anything past 137 Gig.

    PlainBill
    There's a difference between needing help, and just being plain ole' lazy.

    "You cannot teach a man anything. You can only help him find it for himself." Galileo Galilei (1564-1642)

    HR20-700 with 2 TB, HR22-100, HR22-100, HR22-100, HR23-100 all running 0x5cd and networked.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    12
    Well, I was feelind adventurous and brave tonight, so I tried it. I first booted with the PTV CD and tried mfsadd, but it replied "nothing to do", or something like that.

    So I decided to try to do the partition stuff PlainBill suggested. I used pdisk -i and deleted all the partitions, rebooted and then recreated them as they were before. This resulted in a Apple_free partition of about 25 GB. Then I tried doing mfsadd and it said "added another 35 hours, new space 280 hours" or something like that.
    This got me a bit worried, since it was more space than I really had, my total was correct before (245 hours), now it thinks I have more than I do. So I tried doing this process again, but that didnt work at all, mfsadd kept on giving me a bunch of error messages, about mismatched sizes, etc. Dissapointed, I tried a couple more times, but same results.

    Discouraged, I decided to put the disks back in my Dtivo and see if it booted up. I was pretty sure it wouldnt, and that I would be starting all my hacking and upgraded over again. But, to my surprise, it came up just fine, and the Setup screen now reports 211 hours, and TWP reports 232 GB total space. So, it looks like I am all set.

    Do you think it might give me trouble in the future, when it tries to write to the full capacity of the disk? I could try it I guess, I probably will before I start using it regularly.

    After doing this work, it made me realize that a mfs_remove function would be great, it would allow me to remove the previously added drives and add them again. Anyone have any idea how to go about creating something like that?

    Thanks again.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •