Thread: all in one s2 utils question

Pardon me, since I'm new to this... I'm very experience with linux, just not with Tivo... I've managed to upgrade my hard drive just fine on a series 2 (not directivo) but everytime I do anything at all to rc.sysinit on /dev/hda4 or /dev/hda7 (whichever one seems to be the primary) the tivo will sit there for a second at "Welcome" and then reboot itself. At that point, it will apparently switch /dev/hda4 for /dev/hda7 or vice verse (for example, when I pull the drive out and put it in my pc and boot with mfs tools, I can mount /dev/hda4... after it goes through the reboot process in the tivo, I cant mount /dev/hda4 but I can now mount /dev/hda7 which I couldnt before)....

What am I doing wrong?

Last time I changed rc.sysinit, all I did was add this:
    export PATH=$PATH:.

that shouldnt be enough to kill it I wouldnt think...
    any help would be appreciated.. I'd love to get tivoftpd or mfs_ftp or something running.

Quote Originally Posted by godzirra
    Pardon me, since I'm new to this... I'm very experience with linux, just not with Tivo... I've managed to upgrade my hard drive just fine on a series 2 (not directivo) but everytime I do anything at all to rc.sysinit on /dev/hda4 or /dev/hda7 (whichever one seems to be the primary) the tivo will sit there for a second at "Welcome" and then reboot itself. At that point, it will apparently switch /dev/hda4 for /dev/hda7 or vice verse (for example, when I pull the drive out and put it in my pc and boot with mfs tools, I can mount /dev/hda4... after it goes through the reboot process in the tivo, I cant mount /dev/hda4 but I can now mount /dev/hda7 which I couldnt before)....

What am I doing wrong?

Last time I changed rc.sysinit, all I did was add this:
    export PATH=$PATH:.

that shouldnt be enough to kill it I wouldnt think...
    any help would be appreciated.. I'd love to get tivoftpd or mfs_ftp or something running.