Page 2 of 10 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast
Results 16 to 30 of 136

Thread: TyTool 10r3 - Extraction/Frame Accurate Editing/DVD output/Closed Captioning...

  1. #16
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Posts
    1,735
    Quote Originally Posted by BustedSony
    So Mr. Guinea Pig, Fred my Man, let me know if all is well, so I can start clearing 450 Gigs of TCM streams.
    Are you thinking of remux or ty streams? It looks like the subtitle status isn't set properly in the IFOs from 10r3. At least, a fresh edit of 2 PBS Frontline streams didn't yield and IFO with subtites available. I'll need to find the IFOEdit references and see if that helps. I'm not sure what's happening with the 10r1-created VOBs. Some are larger and some are the same size after remuxing. Does that mean the larger ones didn't have CC to begin with? If so, is the larger size empty CC stuff? TyTool shouldn't do that so I'm puzzled...

    edit: ok, I see how to set the CC bit for frame 1 or 2. No subtitles, though.

    Josh, is TyTool smart enough to know to only create CC when it exists in the tystream? Is there something that needs to be enabled in the TiVo to record the CC or is it always in the stream if it's available in the broadcast?
    Last edited by FredThompson; 01-01-2006 at 03:06 PM.
    Collecting 9/11, Afghan/Iraq, Mail Call, Trains, Cooking, Woodworking, Fighting Illini - Let's chat
    A/V links: neuron2 doom9 VideoHelp DigitalMediaNet CreativeCow DVDShrink PgcEdit Streambox WMRecorder
    other links: SnapFiles NoNags HackADay Engadget Fontleech OfflineExplorerPro TechBargains PriceWatch

  2. #17
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Gurnee, IL
    Posts
    2,384
    Quote Originally Posted by falcomadol
    /b is the same as binary transfer mode in ftp. A plain copy A+B+C D results in an ASCII copy on DOS and windows systems, with any accompanying corruption that might entail
    To be more specific, if you don't specify /b and there's an ASCII 26 (Ctrl-Z) somewhere in the file, DOS thinks it's an end-of-file marker and goes no further.
    --
    Christopher D. Heer
    Quote Originally Posted by Oscar Wilde
    Perhaps, after all, America never has been discovered. I myself would say that it had merely been detected.

  3. #18
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    62

    Proper version of dvdauthor.exe

    After having the video shuddering problem with 10r1, I downloaded 10r3 and went through the whole process to create a new dvd of the tystream I had trouble with............and it shuddered

    While beating my head over this, i noticed something with the dvdauthor.exe, but I'll get to that in a second. I remembered I had to check the option for filling audio holes, DOH Now it works as advertised. I went back and checked to see if I had done that with 10r1 and I had and still had the shudder.

    NOTE TO EVERYONE (including the smuck typing this): If you experience video shudder with 10r3, be sure you have checked the option for filling audio holes.

    YOU DA' MAN Josh!

    Now about that dvdauthor.exe file. Josh, I noticed that the file date for dvdauthor.exe in version 10 is 6/8/2003 (same as version 8) and for version 9 is 2/18/2004. Is that your intension Josh?
    2 RCA DVR39 - 209hrs & 35hrs
    Hacks - Bash, Telnet, Mfs_Ftp, TivoWebPlus, USB 2.0
    6.2a, superpatch for HMO/MRV

  4. #19
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    n.h. usa
    Posts
    955
    still getting the damn warning of every one of my .ty or .tmfs that I try even new ones I pulled off using vserver..

    is this just sop from now on that we are always going to get these warnings using dvdauther or is there some way to turn them off in the settings??


    STAT: Processing j:\tivo-store\South Park-The Brown Noise.ty.vob...
    WARN: GOP is not closed on cell boundary
    WARN: GOP is not closed on cell boundary
    WARN: GOP is not closed on cell boundary
    WARN: GOP is not closed on cell boundary
    STAT: VOBU 768 at 257MB, 1 PGCS, 0:19:32

  5. #20
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    17
    I've been trying to use TyTool 10r2 and 10r3 to make some VOB/IFO and the video is garbled. It almost looks encrypted, however I've run superpatch-67all and ciphercheck shows that none of my programs are encrypted:

    Encrypted CSO Set Stream Name
    --------- ------- -----------
    No No The Fairly OddParents

    I've Multiplexed the ty files into regular mpg files and they look fine, but the process VOB/IFO plays garbled in two different software DVD players on my laptop (PowerDVD and nvDVD).

    Am I missing something obvious? I've checked the box to Fill LayerII Audio Holes.

    Thanks for your help.
    Flux

    Philips DSR704 hacked with 6.2 Minimal image
    80GB
    Backported 2.4.27 USB drivers
    USB200M V2
    superpatch-67all

  6. #21
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    133
    Quote Originally Posted by lgkahn
    still getting the damn warning of every one of my .ty or .tmfs that I try even new ones I pulled off using vserver..

    is this just sop from now on that we are always going to get these warnings using dvdauther or is there some way to turn them off in the settings??


    STAT: Processing j:\tivo-store\South Park-The Brown Noise.ty.vob...
    WARN: GOP is not closed on cell boundary
    WARN: GOP is not closed on cell boundary
    WARN: GOP is not closed on cell boundary
    WARN: GOP is not closed on cell boundary
    STAT: VOBU 768 at 257MB, 1 PGCS, 0:19:32
    I am getting these also.




    Quote Originally Posted by khig
    Now about that dvdauthor.exe file. Josh, I noticed that the file date for dvdauthor.exe in version 10 is 6/8/2003 (same as version 8) and for version 9 is 2/18/2004. Is that your intension Josh?
    I took the dvdauthor.exe from 9r18 and overwrote the 10r3 version. Now these GOP is not closed on cell boundary errors go away.



    Another thing I noticed,
    Fill AC3 Audio Holes
    I have to check it each time I open TyTool 10r3

  7. #22
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    27

    Could not open output file

    I have been downloading and processing some large HD shows today without issue however I have this one 2 and 1/2 hr 19Gig show that I cannot retrieve using "get" in tystream mode. My output directory is on a NTFS drive with over 100G free. The drive I am running tytool from has 23G free while my C drive has only 15G free. I was able to retrieve a 14G show earlier today without issue.

    TYTOOL output:

    Name = '2030042/2030043/2030044/2030051/2030053' fsIDs = '2029972/2029973/2029974/2029975/2029976/2029977/2029979/2029981/.... CUT by kemac'
    Tivo Address = '192.168.1.120'
    Connected...
    Could not open an output file!

    TServer Output:

    -> '2029972'
    Attempted to write to a broken socket
    write failed:: Broken pipe
    Waiting for an incoming connection!

    I noticed the name of the show looks strange above... I am using the latest tserver that's included with your distribution. Let me know if you need any other additional info.

    I just discovered that if I use "get parts" and select most of the parts. Here is a comparison: (Looks like its grabbing all but the last five parts)

    Bad

    Name = '2030042/2030043/2030044/2030051/2030053'
    fsIDs = '2029972/2029973/2029974/2029975/2029976/2029977/2029979/2029981/2029984/2029985/2029987/2029990/2029991/2029992/2029993/2029994/2029996/2030005/2030008/2030009/2030010/2030011/2030012/2030013/2030014/2030015/2030016/2030023/2030024/2030025/2030029/2030041/2030042/2030043/2030044/2030051/2030053'
    Tivo Address = '192.168.1.120'
    Connected...
    Could not open an output file!

    Good:

    Name = 'H:\The Strat Pack Celebrates the 50th Anniversary of the Fender Stratocaster-'
    fsIDs = '2029972/2029973/2029974/2029975/2029976/2029977/2029979/2029981/2029984/2029985/2029987/2029990/2029991/2029992/2029993/2029994/2029996/2030005/2030008/2030009/2030010/2030011/2030012/2030013/2030014/2030015/2030016/2030023/2030024/2030025/2030029/2030041'
    Tivo Address = '192.168.1.120'
    Connected...
    Last edited by kemac; 01-01-2006 at 09:02 PM.

  8. #23
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    133
    HDVR2 6.2
    Had some ty files I downloaded using 9r18. Before the DVDs at times had interlace and jerky video sometimes.
    Seemed to be only local channels (lower bandwidth?). HBO Rome was perfect though.
    For playback I use a modded xbox with the DVD playback kit (actually the Windows Media Center Extender) at 480i.
    I even modded the xboxdash.xbe for 480p progressive scan still had the issue.

    Now with 10r3 the issue seems gone, I only rewatched a couple of shows, but I would have noticed it by now
    Putting in the old DVD and I see the problems after about 10 mins.
    The XBOX even passes the CC to my TV via the HDTV cable.

    I'm currently using 10r3 but with DVDAuthor from 9r18.
    Cause it doesn't give me those warnings of errors.
    Not sure I should be using this DVDAuthor.
    Should I be using this DVDAuthor with 10r3?
    Should I be using the version that it came with?
    At the cmdline they both say, "DVDAuthor, version 0.5.3.", but ...

    06/08/2003 06:36 PM 92,099 10r3dvdauthor.exe
    02/18/2004 03:39 PM 82,512 9r18dvdauthor.exe
    02/18/2004 03:39 PM 82,512 dvdauthor.exe

    Are we going to have a 10r4 (like 10r2)?


    Thanks for all your hard work

  9. #24
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Posts
    1,735
    @lgkahn,

    I just noticed the nose blow in your avatar. That's gotta hurt!

    @JimBliss,

    What do you mean by "interlace"? Do you really mean the sawtoothed edge? That's not "interlace" at all. That's a piss-poor conversion of interlaced source to progressive. The XBox doesn't create proper interlaced output. It's a computer, remember, so it creates progressive output which is then rescaled and interlaced for playback on a TV. That's a recipe for low quality.
    Collecting 9/11, Afghan/Iraq, Mail Call, Trains, Cooking, Woodworking, Fighting Illini - Let's chat
    A/V links: neuron2 doom9 VideoHelp DigitalMediaNet CreativeCow DVDShrink PgcEdit Streambox WMRecorder
    other links: SnapFiles NoNags HackADay Engadget Fontleech OfflineExplorerPro TechBargains PriceWatch

  10. #25
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    27
    Quote Originally Posted by kemac
    Bad

    Name = '2030042/2030043/2030044/2030051/2030053'
    fsIDs = '2029972/2029973/2029974/2029975/2029976/2029977/2029979/2029981/2029984/2029985/2029987/2029990/2029991/2029992/2029993/2029994/2029996/2030005/2030008/2030009/2030010/2030011/2030012/2030013/2030014/2030015/2030016/2030023/2030024/2030025/2030029/2030041/2030042/2030043/2030044/2030051/2030053'
    Tivo Address = '192.168.1.120'
    Connected...
    Could not open an output file!

    Good:

    Name = 'H:\The Strat Pack Celebrates the 50Th Anniversary of the Fender Stratocaster-'
    fsIDs = '2029972/2029973/2029974/2029975/2029976/2029977/2029979/2029981/2029984/2029985/2029987/2029990/2029991/2029992/2029993/2029994/2029996/2030005/2030008/2030009/2030010/2030011/2030012/2030013/2030014/2030015/2030016/2030023/2030024/2030025/2030029/2030041'
    Tivo Address = '192.168.1.120'
    Connected...
    After further investigation it appears I cannot retrieve a show with greater than 32 parts. "Get parts" doesn't provide anything in its part list after 32 fsIDs so I am unable to retrieve the full show even when using "get parts".

  11. #26
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    4,809
    Quote Originally Posted by FredThompson
    Huh? CC has to be inside the VOBs, right? Maybe I don't understand how the CC works. I'll go read the notes again.
    Yes. But the parser that pulls the VOBs back into the system to make the new VOB out of it isn't aware of the CC. So it gets carried along and will be in the output but it isn't filling the internal structure. hence the warning about having no CC information.

    There are probably more than 5-10 corrupted CC streams made by TyTool users. (I know, I know...)
    My brain is finally waking up a bit. I have an idea for a new tool that will be simple and brute force but will fix the problem in the old output files rather than doing a full re-process. Should reduce certain problems.

    Why are some of the remuxed files larger than the source but others aren't?
    Certain elements are padded during the processing phase to maintain alignment etc... Each time you process to pick up the old padding, add what new padding is needed and surprise surprise things get bigger. But not by much...

    IF you are that concerned about the reprocessing of things then send me some pizza money (UUmmm Pepperoni and Black Olive... and I will hammer out the in place fixer for you and it will be exactly the same size.

    --jdiner

  12. #27
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    4,809
    Quote Originally Posted by mrdizzy
    I presume that procedure for using VTS_0Y_X.VOB files from a finished DVD will work with other vobs too. Hadn't thought of that before, that's great! Perhaps I can combine non-Ty vobs and TiVo recordings on the same DVD, good for when I download missed episodes from elsewhere
    It will indeed. I had to do that some time ago with SG-1. They just weren't re-airing the 2 I needed. So I downloaded an MPEG-2 source for each of them and reprocessed into a TyTool output vob and made the DVD. Works perfectly.

    --jdiner

  13. #28
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    4,809
    Quote Originally Posted by newlooper
    I have been struggling with a weird one. I have part two of a show and the whole show is on the tivo and extracts in ty format, but when creating keyframes it bails out at about 1/3 of the show. There are no errors. Any ideas?
    Yeah. I think so. I put in a check in the HD format for the end of stream marker to make it stop processing at that point. They seemed to need to be enforced in an HD stream. My guess is that you have one in that file but it doesn't really mark the end of the file.

    I think I will put an option on that one so you an see if that was it.

    --jdiner

  14. #29
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    4,809
    Quote Originally Posted by FredThompson
    edit: ok, I see how to set the CC bit for frame 1 or 2. No subtitles, though.
    CC and subtitles are NOT the same thing in the DVD player realm. Subtitles are RLE encoded pictures, like the menus for a DVD, that are overlayed on the output image. This is how there can be multiple language sub-titles. So the image sent to the TV has the base playback image and the overlayed subtitle image all on 1. So any TV, monitor, display device can show these.

    CC, or Closed Captioning, is a simple formatted text output mechanism that is performed by the TV's decoder itself. So you have to have a TV that has a CC decoder for it to work.

    If you want subtitles out of TyTool it isn't present and won't be for some time. May never be for that matter. If you want CC is 99% present.

    What is missing is that I forgot yet again to turn on the CC bit when making the DVD. I am doing what I can but I have rarely been this sick.

    --jdiner

  15. #30
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    4,809
    Quote Originally Posted by lgkahn
    still getting the damn warning of every one of my .ty or .tmfs that I try even new ones I pulled off using vserver..

    is this just sop from now on that we are always going to get these warnings using dvdauther or is there some way to turn them off in the settings??


    STAT: Processing j:\tivo-store\South Park-The Brown Noise.ty.vob...
    WARN: GOP is not closed on cell boundary
    WARN: GOP is not closed on cell boundary
    WARN: GOP is not closed on cell boundary
    WARN: GOP is not closed on cell boundary
    STAT: VOBU 768 at 257MB, 1 PGCS, 0:19:32
    Search for my post on what causes this, what it means, and why it can be ignored. It will be going away before long because I am replacing much of what we use DVDAuthor for with code inside of TyTool. Makes it a ton faster.

    --jdiner

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •