Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Need a new USB-Ethernet connection

  1. #1
    flagmaster Guest

    Need a new USB-Ethernet connection

    I had a LinkSys USB200 device, I broke it, total POS!!

    Can someone recomend a better one that built more solid? Perfereable one that will work without having to change my drivers in rc.sysinit.author?

    Thanks.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Narnia
    Posts
    1,263
    The Netgear FA120 seems pretty popular around here, and more solidly built.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    2,402
    Netgear FA-120 works and can be usually be bought at your local CompUSA or OfifceMax (or Office Depot--can't remember which one).

    ew

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    8

    Lightbulb

    Mine broke too, but I used electrical tape to secure the network cable to it and basicly made a permently attached patch cable on it (had to wrap the tape rather tightly around the end of the dongle).

    Beats trying to find a new version 1 of the 200m, but I concure that all my new hacked DirecTivo's I have used the FA120.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    126
    v2 works as well.....

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Gurnee, IL
    Posts
    2,384
    Quote Originally Posted by ttodd1
    v2 works as well.....
    Not with stock drivers, it doesn't.
    --
    Christopher D. Heer
    Quote Originally Posted by Oscar Wilde
    Perhaps, after all, America never has been discovered. I myself would say that it had merely been detected.

  7. #7
    flagmaster Guest
    Im going with a FA120. I had to get it a buy.com

    Whats the fastest transfer rate I can expect from a HR10-250 tivo with one of this 100mb?

    Im getting about 2.25mbyte per sec.

    Is that about right? Can I do better?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    126
    Quote Originally Posted by cheer
    Not with stock drivers, it doesn't.
    Yes sorry - I guess I should have been more clear.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Gurnee, IL
    Posts
    2,384
    Quote Originally Posted by flagmaster
    Im going with a FA120. I had to get it a buy.com

    Whats the fastest transfer rate I can expect from a HR10-250 tivo with one of this 100mb?

    Im getting about 2.25mbyte per sec.

    Is that about right? Can I do better?
    That's pretty much what I've seen. Check the soapbox derby thread for tips on how to get more...custom kernel, tune to non-existant channels, use a gigabit ethernet adapter with a gigabit switch that supports jumbo frames, and so on.
    --
    Christopher D. Heer
    Quote Originally Posted by Oscar Wilde
    Perhaps, after all, America never has been discovered. I myself would say that it had merely been detected.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •