Page 48 of 92 FirstFirst ... 38464748495058 ... LastLast
Results 706 to 720 of 1367

Thread: FINALLY! An Upgrade for the HR10-250. 6.3!

  1. #706
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    53
    Something else to note... The ty+ recording that I inserted this afternoon with mfs_ftp all show up with "Time: 0 (Partial recording)" in the menu off NPL when you please select on a recording. The recordings are infact completely intact though and play just fine. <shrug>

  2. #707
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Gurnee, IL
    Posts
    2,384
    The NowPlayingList/TWP issue appears to be related to creating and/or reordering season passes manually in TWP. Using TWP for most other tasks seems to be fine.
    --
    Christopher D. Heer
    Quote Originally Posted by Oscar Wilde
    Perhaps, after all, America never has been discovered. I myself would say that it had merely been detected.

  3. #708
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    73
    Quote Originally Posted by Cheezmo View Post
    I have had 3 events just like that. I'm pretty sure I was watching WFAA-DT (Dallas ABC affiliate) in all 3 cases.

    I'm glad I'm not alone, but no too happy. The question is, is it related to hacking or a general problem. I'm using the 3.1.5 kernel FWIW.
    I haven't re-hacked my system except to put the 3.1.5 kernel in position. (Don't have a serial cable and don't want to pull the drives to go in and add netconfig.tcl to author.) I have not seen this problem at all yet, even when recording two HD shows.

    Could it be that mfs_ftp or twp is eating too much processor time, and 6.3 needs more than 3.1.5?

  4. #709
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    15
    posting my experience with my two HR10-250s and 6.3...

    Upgraded both to 6.3, the first one has an Netgear FA120, upgrade went flawless, no need for serial or crackin the box.

    The other has a Linksys USB200M Ver.2, this one didn't go so hot... had to pull the drive and re-enable my insmod commands. After that, everything was cool. Both Tivos I used the netconfig.tcl method in rc.sysint.author (two reboots to ping).

    Both using the 3.1.5 killhdinitrd kernels.

    The fun part... NO LOCALS on either box.

    I did various combinations of C&DE, Repeat Guided setup, autodetect satellites. After doing that MANY times I eventually saw the 72.5 sat. However, I wasn't getting signal on probably half of the transponders (on the 72.5 sat). If you're having trouble here, check your transponders on the 72.5 sat, all of them respond for me now (restored to a 3.1.5f backup). Holding off on another upgrade attempt for the time being...

    My question is, do any of you use the 72.5 sat and run the 7.2 kernel, if so, are you able to see signal on all the transponders?
    Last edited by sirsycho; 09-21-2006 at 01:17 AM.

  5. #710
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    114

    72.5 - loss of locals

    Quote Originally Posted by sirsycho View Post

    The fun part... NO LOCALS on either box.

    I did various combinations of C&DE, Repeat Guided setup, autodetect satellites. After doing that MANY times I eventually saw the 72.5 sat. However, I wasn't getting signal on probably half of the transponders (on the 72.5 sat). If you're having trouble here, check your transponders on the 72.5 sat, all of them respond for me now (restored to a 3.1.5f backup). Holding off on another upgrade attempt for the time being...

    My question is, do any of you use the 72.5 sat and run the 7.2 kernel, if so, are you able to see signal on all the transponders?
    I don't use 72.5, but there is a thread on another forum which makes it seem unlikely that your choice of kernels has anything to do with losing the 72.5 sat. Link.

  6. #711
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    6,413
    This is a known issue and the reason DTV stopped sending out the 6.3 update. They're supposed to be fixing the issue with 72.5 and 95 locals and will be reissuing 6.3 with the fix as soon as they have it.

    To recap the problem with TWP, is it just an issue mucking with season passes using TWP? Has anyone found any other problems using TWP other than season passes?

    I believe someone suggested putting together a thread similar to the one for 6.2 containing upgrade info and tips. I think this would be desirable for 6.3 to collect all of the known issues and bugs that have been reported along with the steps required to get hacks working under 6.3. The real info is getting buried under the various spinoffs in this thread. For example, the whole TWP issue could have been split off in its own thread.
    Please don't PM me or any other members looking for personal assistance. You'll do better by posting (after you've exhausted the search feature, of course) and taking advantage of the collective expertise of the membership instead of a single individual that may or may not be able to help you. Thank you and enjoy your stay at DDB!

  7. #712
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    75
    Quote Originally Posted by captain_video View Post
    Has anyone found any other problems using TWP other than season passes?
    I also had some oddities with marking/un-marking my received channels via ChannelPrefs in TWP. I made several changes via TWP in this regard, but after a reboot the TiVo appeared to revert back to having all channels marked as received. I believe Cheer experienced something similar. I finally just made the changes via the GUI and they seem to have stuck.

  8. #713
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    44

    tivo has been rebooting after the upgrade

    I was just looking at the logs to look for problems and realized that my tivo has been rebooting every 12 to 14 hours since I did the upgrade. I am including here the stuff that appears in the kernel log, tvlog, tverr before it reboots. It appears to be happening when it tries to call home, but I could be wrong. Has anyone experienced this? I have it connected to a regular phone line. I am not running fakecall.

    The number between the brackets after "Activity Phone" is always different.

    Last line in kernel log:
    Code:
    Tmk Fatal Error: Activity Phone <10313>: unexpected signal 10
    Last lines in tverr:
    Code:
    Activity Phone[10313]: Tmk Fatal Error: Thread died due to signal 10
    Activity Phone[10313]: Invoking rule 834: rebooting system
    Here is more info from kernel log before reboot:
    Code:
    Modem: OK
    Caught signal, standby while exiting... (signo=14) 
    Modem: OK
    Modem: OK
    emulate_load_store_insn: sending signal 10 to tcphonehome(10313)
    $0 : 00000000 80150000 00230003 aaaaaaaa aaaaaaaa 00000001 7fd7f1c0 00000000
    $8 : 0000fc00 ffffdfff 00000000 00000001 80151b78 00004251 00002128 80184020
    $16: 5efca7a8 5efca788 7fd7f338 7fd7f390 00000001 5efc8000 00000001 5efc8000
    $24: 00000000 0240e6e0                   2ac1c200 7fd7f2a8 7fd7f368 00908190
    Hi : 00000000
    Lo : 0000001c
    epc  : 0090819c    Tainted: P
    Status: 8001fc13
    Cause : 00000010
           8001e9fc 8001eac0 80022bb4 800215b4 8001d6b8  0090819c
           0090819c 009061ac 00bf872c 008d0244 008cfe80 008ca5c4 008ca1ec 008c9000
           009478e8 004726b4 00ef1338 02a2871c 02a304bc 02a298cc 02a28a48 02a28834
           02a60cb8 02a2871c 02a28630 02a2b03c 02a3c7e4 02a3c6cc 02a3c57c 02a3bad8
    
    Tmk Fatal Error: Activity Phone <10313> strayed!
    pc 0x9081a0 status 0x8001fc13 cause 0x000010 bva 0xaaaaaab6 hi 00000000 lo 0x00001c
    R00 0x00000000  R01 0x80150000  R02 0x00230003  R03 0xaaaaaaaa
    R04 0xaaaaaaaa  R05 0x00000001  R06 0x7fd7f1c0  R07 0x00000000
    R08 0x0000fc00  R09 0xffffdfff  R10 0x00000000  R11 0x00000001
    R12 0x80151b78  R13 0x00004251  R14 0x00002128  R15 0x80184020
    R16 0x5efca7a8  R17 0x5efca788  R18 0x7fd7f338  R19 0x7fd7f390
    R20 0x00000001  R21 0x5efc8000  R22 0x00000001  R23 0x5efc8000
    R24 0x00000000  R25 0x0240e6e0  R26 0x00000000  R27 0x00000000
    R28 0x2ac1c200  R29 0x7fd7f2a8  R30 0x7fd7f368  R31 0x00908190
    Paste the following into a shell to get a backtrace...
    
    bt -t /tvbin/tivoapp <<END_OF_BT
      tcd 1
      hpk Series2
      build b-firefly-takehome @242789 2006.08.11-1618 release-mips []
      pack 6.3-01-2
      read 0x00400000 /tvbin/tivoapp
      read 0x02000000 /lib/libc.so.6
      read 0x02200000 /lib/libm.so.6
      read 0x02400000 /lib/libpthread.so.0
      read 0x02600000 /lib/libutil.so.1
      read 0x02800000 /lib/libtvutil.so
      read 0x02a00000 /lib/libtmk.so
      read 0x02c00000 /lib/libtvstructures.so
      read 0x2aaa8000 /lib/ld.so.1
      read 0x2ab04000 /lib/libhpkoss.so
      read 0x2ab50000 /platform/lib/libhpkhl.so
      read 0x2ac18000 /platform/lib/libhpkll.so
      read 0x2ac5c000 /lib/libdl.so.2
      read 0x2aca0000 /lib/libcdaudio.so
      0x009081a0 0x009061ac 0x00bf872c 0x008d0244 0x008cfe80 0x008ca5c4 0x008ca1ec
      0x008c9000 0x009478e8 0x004726b4 0x00ef1338 0x02a2871c 0x02a304bc 0x02a298cc
      0x02a28a48 0x02a28834 0x02a60cb8 0x02a2871c 0x02a28630 0x02a2b03c 0x02a3c7e4    
      0x02a3c6cc 0x02a3c57c 0x02a3bad8
    END_OF_BT
    
    Tmk Fatal Error: Activity Phone <10313>: unexpected signal 10
    More info from tvlog just before reboot:
    Code:
    TvPhoneHomeSession[270]: Received in progress status: Preparing to call
    TmkActivityStats[10276]: TvCommPhoneHomeStatusService-->(Pri:0 Time Sample: 13 h 52 min)
    TmkActivityStats[10276]: Fd    : Cur#:   0, Max#:   0, #Trig:       0, Time:    0 usec
    TmkActivityStats[10276]: Timer : Cur#:   0, Max#:   0, #Trig:       0, Time:    0 usec
    TmkActivityStats[10276]: Sema  : Cur#:   3, Max#:   3, #Trig:       3, Time:   29 msec
    TmkActivityStats[10276]: Callme: Cur#:   0, Max#:   0, #Trig:       0, Time:    0 usec
    TmkActivityStats[10321]: CommServicesActivity-->(Pri:1 Time Sample: 13 h 52 min)
    TmkActivityStats[10321]: Fd    : Cur#:   0, Max#:   0, #Trig:       0, Time:    0 usec
    TmkActivityStats[10321]: Timer : Cur#:   0, Max#:   1, #Trig:       3, Time:    2 msec
    TmkActivityStats[10321]: Sema  : Cur#:  11, Max#:  11, #Trig:      26, Time:   18 msec
    TmkActivityStats[10321]: Callme: Cur#:   0, Max#:   0, #Trig:       0, Time:    0 usec
    Recorder[256]: Checking schedule
    TmkTransform::Trace[280]: ClipCache 0x5ea9ed38 Secondary Reset
    ClipCache[276]: 0x5ea9ed38 in Entry(), thread 276, fsid 1424001
    TmkReadAheadCache.C[276]: Invalidate 1424001
    TmkClipFile.C[275]: flushed fsid 1423992, up to 5759 (5760)
    DiskManager[10325]: New request: recording Id 1423104 type 0 T
    KnownHostPromo[2595]: ReloadPromoUrl: Not querying Promo Url: URL not in db (0xffff)
    KnownHostPromo[2595]: No calypso url: not starting query

  9. #714
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    123
    Someone on TCF mentioned this, but does not look like anyone has reported it in this thread. When you pause a show the clock displayed with SPS9S also stops. When you unpause then show the clock displays the correct time, it just did not update the on screen display during the pause.

    3.1.5f does not do this. Hard to complain about a "hack" not working as previously, but it is a little weird.

  10. #715
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    15
    Quote Originally Posted by lenoxb View Post
    I don't use 72.5, but there is a thread on another forum which makes it seem unlikely that your choice of kernels has anything to do with losing the 72.5 sat. Link.
    Thanks for the reply lenoxb. I doubted the kernel as well, but checking every permutation to make sure it's not just me.

    I left my first first HR10 at 6.3 and am dialing in to see if I get the slices someone mentioned earlier.

  11. #716
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    15
    on a side note... I have a "how to" written up for upgrading a PTVNet 3.1.5f HR10-250 to 6.3 if anyone cares to format it and post it up somewhere, I can PM it to ya...

    I realize I may get flamed here for posting this on this board. I spent a long time hacking my first HR10 and learned a lot but when I got the second for my wife she wouldn't hear of me taking so much time with hers, hence the PTV disc. It worked so well, I restored and used it on mine as well.

    Anyways, besides the paths to the hacks and stuff it should work for others as well. It covers a "no serial/no hdd removal" upgrade (with info gathered from this thread). It does assume some proficiency with vi or nano or pico (or whatever editor you have on your box, I used vi), general linux wouldn't hurt either.

    Thanks to you veterans out here, I've been here for YEARS and never need to post because you're already so helpful (just need to read a bit).

    Dave

  12. #717
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Gurnee, IL
    Posts
    2,384
    Quote Originally Posted by captain_video View Post
    I believe someone suggested putting together a thread similar to the one for 6.2 containing upgrade info and tips. I think this would be desirable for 6.3 to collect all of the known issues and bugs that have been reported along with the steps required to get hacks working under 6.3. The real info is getting buried under the various spinoffs in this thread. For example, the whole TWP issue could have been split off in its own thread.
    Captain, I could not agree more.
    --
    Christopher D. Heer
    Quote Originally Posted by Oscar Wilde
    Perhaps, after all, America never has been discovered. I myself would say that it had merely been detected.

  13. #718
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    32

    Stuck in Infinite Reboot on 6.3 Upgrade

    Hello,
    Looks like i bricked my HDTivo. I followed the instructions from the capture on Page 35, Post #520 in this forum. Only difference was my new root was hda4, so the dd changed (hda6 to hda3) for my old kernal. Odd thing was when I did the dd, it reported 409+1 records in and out. Then, followed insturctions for moving and recreating iptables, but the boot log seems to be missing iptables. Attached is the log of the boot from my serial bash. any help would be greatly appreciated.

    Old version was 3.1.5e.
    Thanks,
    Jeff

  14. #719
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Gurnee, IL
    Posts
    2,384
    Did you rename netfilter-enable? If you did, put it back. And...did you make iptables executable (chmod 755 iptables)?

    Also, I'm presuming you did this while the drive was attached to your PC. I further presume you mounted your root partition on a mountpoint like /mnt or /tivo or something. In that case...if you mess with /sbin/iptables, you're messing with the iptables that you booted with, not the one on the Tivo drive. So triple-check that iptables.

    If you do all that and it still doesn't work, post the contents of your iptables file. (If it's long -- and it shouldn't be -- attach or use code tags.)
    --
    Christopher D. Heer
    Quote Originally Posted by Oscar Wilde
    Perhaps, after all, America never has been discovered. I myself would say that it had merely been detected.

  15. #720
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    32

    Bricked on Upgrade

    Thanks for the quick reply.
    Did you rename netfilter-enable? If you did, put it back. And...did you make iptables executable (chmod 755 iptables)?

    Did not rename netfilter-enable, and aftercreating iptables with the echo command, maed it executable with chmod 755.

    Also, I'm presuming you did this while the drive was attached to your PC. I further presume you mounted your root partition on a mountpoint like /mnt or /tivo or something. In that case...if you mess with /sbin/iptables, you're messing with the iptables that you booted with, not the one on the Tivo drive. So triple-check that iptables.

    Was doing the upgrade with the drive in the Tivo. Mounted the new root at /mnt before completing the move of iptables to iptables.orig and the echo to create the new iptables.

    If you do all that and it still doesn't work, post the contents of your iptables file. (If it's long -- and it shouldn't be -- attach or use code tags.)

    How can I get a copy of the iptables if the unit is in infinite reboot? Am I going to have to pull the drive?
    Thanks,
    Jeff

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •