Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 89

Thread: Series 3 Information

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    25

    Series 3 Information

    I started this thread to collect preliminary information about the new Series 3 Standalone TiVo. I will be posting what I encounter, and I invite anyone else to post their experiences.

    MFSInfo
    Code:
    /# mfsinfo /dev/hdx
    mfs_load_zone_map: Primary zone map corrupt, loading backup.
    MFS volume set contains 4 partitions
    
       /dev/hdx10
         MFS Partition Size: 288MiB
       /dev/hdx11
         MFS Partition Size: 105833MiB
       /dev/hdx12
         MFS Partition Size: 288MiB
       /dev/hdx13
         MFS Partition Size: 131161MiB
    Total MFS volume size: 237570MiB
    Estimated hours in a standalone TiVo: 282
    This MFS volume may be expanded 4 more times
    Bootpage -p:
    Code:
    /# bootpage -p /dev/hdx7
    root=/dev/hda7
    MFSBackup:
    Code:
    /# mfsbackup -f 9999 -6so /mnt/tivo/tivo.series.3.virgin.mfs /dev/hdx
    Scanning source drive. Please wait a moment.
    Source drive size is 282 hours
    Backup image will be 282 hours
    Uncompressed backup size: 2869 megabytes
    Backing up 2869 of 2869 megabytes (100.00%)
    Backup done!
    MFSRestore:
    Code:
    /# mfsrestore -s 127 -zxpi /mnt/tivo/tivo.series.3.virgin.mfs /dev/hdx
    Mounting /dev/hda7 worked fine, and I was able to get into the MFS filesystem.

    The image restored fine on the 250gb SATA drive, I know there's no difference in space, but the accomplishment here was that the image was valid and can be used on any SATA drive.

    How did I get around the WD SecureConnect™ cable? Since I was just testing the method, I had an external power source hooked up to the HD and had it powered at all times. This isn't something that will work in a real environment, but I just wanted to get the information out to the real geniuses and maybe they can get something rolling.

    That's about it, nothing special, but I didn't see anything posted for the S3 either here or the *other* forum, so I decided to take a dive myself. Expect the MFS image to be in the usual places in a few hours.
    Last edited by Supafly; 09-18-2006 at 10:59 PM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    25

    MFSInfo

    It never occured to me that you don't probably don't to replace the connectors at ALL.

    Yeah, there's nothing special about the SecureConnect assembly, it worked fine on the Segate drive and tested. It never occured to me to even TRY it!

    So there you have it, nothing special about the connector, plugs fine into any standard SATA drive.
    Last edited by Supafly; 09-19-2006 at 09:58 AM.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    98
    Wow!!! So much incompatibility with the power connections itself for SATA drives?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Gurnee, IL
    Posts
    2,385
    Yeah...naturally some have speculated that Tivo did this to discourage drive replacements and/or lock folks into a particular brand, but more likely they felt that the standard Sata power connector wasn't secure enough -- and I don't blame them.

    Supafly: excellent info! Keep us posted as you continue to explore.
    --
    Christopher D. Heer
    Quote Originally Posted by Oscar Wilde
    Perhaps, after all, America never has been discovered. I myself would say that it had merely been detected.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    25
    Information about the SecureConnect Assembly modifed above.

    Also, the image is on BitTorrent as promised, PM me for details or search in the obvious places. I've set up some seeders to get things moving along.
    Last edited by Supafly; 09-19-2006 at 09:56 AM.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    10

    Thanks again

    Great info, looking forward to moving some shows off the S3 soon to my PC for backup to HD-DVD.

    Thanks!

    mb1010

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    151
    So where did you get the MFS boot disk with the SATA drivers? I can't get my machine to see the drive attached to my SATA port.
    Tivo since '99, DirecTV since '96, Comcast since '06, FiOS TV '07!

    3 x S2 DT
    2 x S3 w/ 2xCCs and 1.5TB each
    2 x TivoHD w/ 2xCCs and 1TB each

    Sony Black Pearl on 110" Stewart FHG3

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    25
    Quote Originally Posted by AbMagFab View Post
    So where did you get the MFS boot disk with the SATA drivers? I can't get my machine to see the drive attached to my SATA port.
    You can download the free version here:
    PTVupgrade LBA48 CD with MFStools (version 4.04)

    The two pay versions are available here:

    PTVupgrade LBA48 CD v4.04 Enhancements ($5)
    PTVupgrade Universal Boot CD 11c ($20)

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    34
    Has web server running on it with welcome screen and links to tivo site,
    http://series3ip

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Narnia
    Posts
    1,266
    I am also afflicted by a motherboard with the rather early-generation SiliconImage 3114 SATA controller chip. SATA seems to be made specific for HDD units, and they forgot to include ATAPI support for things like CD-ROM, or possibly home Tape backup units.

    Anyway, a few of the modern Linux Live Boot CDs seem to work fine these days with my computer. I suppose if you can get the machine to boot, and then can get tivopart on it (ftp from a nearby machine, thumdrive, floppy) it should hopefully then "see" the tivo partitions on the tivo drive.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    151
    Quote Originally Posted by Narf54321 View Post
    I am also afflicted by a motherboard with the rather early-generation SiliconImage 3114 SATA controller chip. SATA seems to be made specific for HDD units, and they forgot to include ATAPI support for things like CD-ROM, or possibly home Tape backup units.

    Anyway, a few of the modern Linux Live Boot CDs seem to work fine these days with my computer. I suppose if you can get the machine to boot, and then can get tivopart on it (ftp from a nearby machine, thumdrive, floppy) it should hopefully then "see" the tivo partitions on the tivo drive.
    So okay, I booted to 4.x MFSTools CD, and it booted up, saw all the drives (SATA drive at hdf or hdh, depending on which port I use), but after it found the IRQ of my DVDRom drive, it hung. It said the 2 SATA chains were actually IDE chains, and the only difference from the real IDE chains were that it said "100% compliant" or something like that for the SATA chains.

    There's nothing in my BIOS about legacy mode, except for the USB ports.

    Any ideas? Any alternative Linux builds I can try? I can always stick the MFS CD in after booting a kernel that works, I assume, and run the MFS commands?

    Help please... I'd really like to get this 750GB into my S3.
    Tivo since '99, DirecTV since '96, Comcast since '06, FiOS TV '07!

    3 x S2 DT
    2 x S3 w/ 2xCCs and 1.5TB each
    2 x TivoHD w/ 2xCCs and 1TB each

    Sony Black Pearl on 110" Stewart FHG3

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    151
    Okay, I'm guessing it's because it's greater than 320GB? I see that the CompUSA external SATA enclosure supports only up to 320GB drives.

    Any hope for me?
    Tivo since '99, DirecTV since '96, Comcast since '06, FiOS TV '07!

    3 x S2 DT
    2 x S3 w/ 2xCCs and 1.5TB each
    2 x TivoHD w/ 2xCCs and 1TB each

    Sony Black Pearl on 110" Stewart FHG3

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Narnia
    Posts
    1,266
    Quote Originally Posted by AbMagFab View Post
    Any ideas? Any alternative Linux builds I can try? I can always stick the MFS CD in after booting a kernel that works, I assume, and run the MFS commands?

    Help please... I'd really like to get this 750GB into my S3.
    I've had good luck with Ubuntu 5.10 on my SATA PC and using the tivopart to load the tivo drive's partition table into memory. This of course is with older S2 IDE tivo drives, but I don't see why it wouldn't work for you as long as linux "knows" there is some sort of device where your tivo drive is attached. Instead of /dev/hdc (for example) it'll probably look like /dev/sdc.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    151
    Quote Originally Posted by Narf54321 View Post
    I've had good luck with Ubuntu 5.10 on my SATA PC and using the tivopart to load the tivo drive's partition table into memory. This of course is with older S2 IDE tivo drives, but I don't see why it wouldn't work for you as long as linux "knows" there is some sort of device where your tivo drive is attached. Instead of /dev/hdc (for example) it'll probably look like /dev/sdc.
    Quick question - What do I download to create just a bootable CD? I see a bunch of install images, but I just want a bootable ISO image.

    And do I need to use tivopart if all I want to do is mfsrestore?
    Last edited by AbMagFab; 09-21-2006 at 10:58 PM.
    Tivo since '99, DirecTV since '96, Comcast since '06, FiOS TV '07!

    3 x S2 DT
    2 x S3 w/ 2xCCs and 1.5TB each
    2 x TivoHD w/ 2xCCs and 1TB each

    Sony Black Pearl on 110" Stewart FHG3

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    4,085
    Quote Originally Posted by AbMagFab View Post
    Quick question - What do I download to create just a bootable CD? I see a bunch of install images, but I just want a bootable ISO image.
    Download the Desktop CD here.
    And do I need to use tivopart if all I want to do is mfsrestore?
    No. tivopart is uneeded if you are just doing a restore.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •