Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Extracting 8.1 Slices

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    1,008

    Extracting 8.1 Slices

    So I have 8.1 and I want to extract the slices for future use.

    Code:
    bash-2.02# echo mls /SwSystem | tivosh
    Directory of /SwSystem starting at ''
    
        Name                      Type        FsId      Date  Time   Size
        ----                      ----        ----      ----  ----   ----
        7.3.1-oth-01-2-140        tyDb     1265321  07/30/06 14:21    868
        8.1-01-2-140              tyDb     1564980  11/21/06 13:27    848
        ACTIVE                    tyDb     1265321  07/30/06 14:21    868
    So I did...

    Code:
    bash-2.02# mfs_dumpobj -r /SwModule
    <snip>
    SwModule 1561957/11 PRIMARY {
            ServerVersion[9]=2
            ModuleFile[19]=1561958
            ModuleRelease[18]=1
            ModuleVersion[17]=8.1-01-2
            Name[16]=GZcore
            ServerId[8]=83273314
            Version[1]=1
            IndexPath[4]=/SwModule/1561957 /Server/83273314
    }
    SwModule 1561959/11 PRIMARY {
            ServerVersion[9]=2
            ModuleFile[19]=1561960
            ModuleRelease[18]=1
            ModuleVersion[17]=8.1-01-2
            Name[16]=GZhpk-Series2
            ServerId[8]=83273318
            Version[1]=1
            IndexPath[4]=/SwModule/1561959 /Server/83273318
    }
    SwModule 1561961/11 PRIMARY {
            ServerVersion[9]=2
            ModuleFile[19]=1561962
            ModuleRelease[18]=1
            ModuleVersion[17]=8.1-01-2
            Name[16]=GZkernel-Series2
            ServerId[8]=83273316
            Version[1]=1
            IndexPath[4]=/SwModule/1561961 /Server/83273316
    }
    SwModule 1564981/11 PRIMARY {
            ServerVersion[9]=2
            ModuleFile[19]=1564982
            ModuleRelease[18]=1
            ModuleVersion[17]=8.1-01-2
            Name[16]=utils
            ServerId[8]=83273312
            Version[1]=1
            IndexPath[4]=/SwModule/1564981 /Server/83273312
    }
    So now, using 'mfs_uberexport' I've extracted the following:

    GZcore.gz
    GZhpk-Series2.gz
    GZkernel-Series2.gz
    utils.cpio

    Those are my names for the files. Is this all I need to do a manual slice upgrade to a machine currently running 7.2? In reading bits from the 6.2 upgrade/support thread there were references to loopsets and swsystem slices. Am I also correct in that after I upgrade the machine I extracted these from, they will still be available in MFS - or are they removed?
    ScanMan --> Just another Tivo hacker...
    Killhdinitrd SA S2 Monte S2 Unscramble Upgrade Tivo Software

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    5,601
    Based on information from alldeadhomiez, loopsets should not be a problem providing you are following a normal upgrade path (7.x to 8.x, etc). Swsystem is another matter. It cannot be extracted from the mfs database in the same manner you used, rather when it is loaded it makes dozens (hundreds?) of changes. It is vital to the upgrade. The method I would suggest is using one of several techniques to capture the slices as they are transfered during the daily call.

    PlainBill
    There's a difference between needing help, and just being plain ole' lazy.

    "You cannot teach a man anything. You can only help him find it for himself." Galileo Galilei (1564-1642)

    HR20-700 with 2 TB, HR22-100, HR22-100, HR22-100, HR23-100 all running 0x5cd and networked.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Gurnee, IL
    Posts
    2,384
    Just to amplify PB's post...a simple cron job to copy the contents of /var/packages to somewhere else once per minute will do the job nicely. Note that this won't work for slices received by satellite, but then that's not an issue with 8.1.

    P.S. Anyone notice that PB quietly dropped the Vikings logo avatar? Hey Bill, a week from Sunday, you're coming to OUR house for a whuppin'!
    --
    Christopher D. Heer
    Quote Originally Posted by Oscar Wilde
    Perhaps, after all, America never has been discovered. I myself would say that it had merely been detected.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    5,601
    Quote Originally Posted by cheer View Post
    P.S. Anyone notice that PB quietly dropped the Vikings logo avatar? Hey Bill, a week from Sunday, you're coming to OUR house for a whuppin'!
    So? Thus far the Vikings have lost to the Bears, Bills, Patriots, 49ers, Packers, and Dolphins. I expect Chicago will gain 20 yards on the ground, Grossman will throw 3 interceptions and lose two fumbles, and the Vikings will lose by less than 7 points.

    When Childress was hired, I predicted the Vikings would be lucky to win 4 games all season. Their only chance of proving me wrong is if they get by Arizona this weekend. I didn't expect them to make it to the SuperBowl, but whoever is calling the plays can't even seem to recognise which ones work, and which ones don't.

    PlainBill
    There's a difference between needing help, and just being plain ole' lazy.

    "You cannot teach a man anything. You can only help him find it for himself." Galileo Galilei (1564-1642)

    HR20-700 with 2 TB, HR22-100, HR22-100, HR22-100, HR23-100 all running 0x5cd and networked.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    253
    Copying with cron may not be perfectly reliable - TiVo may delete a file during the middle of a copy, a copy may be done while a file is being downloaded, etc. It will also thrash the disk, continually copying the same files over and over.

    I use cron to create hard links to files which appear in /var/packages. Low overhead, and no concern about only getting a partial or corrupted file. You could also get fancier and have a shell script check for the system upgrade slices more specifically, but I figure this is about the lowest overhead you can have.

    Just make sure you go through on a regular basis and rm the fluff which the daily calls grab, so you don't fill up /var (not fatal, but that would likely cause /var to be recreated, losing the slices).

    Code:
    #crontab file to get slices into /var/slices
    * * * * * ln /var/packages/*.slice.* /var/slices/

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    1,008
    Cool, have crond setup to create the hard links as mike_s suggests. Just waiting now for the slices...

    Oh and once I get a swsystem slice, I only need one right? No problem using the captured one in the near future for a slice upgrade on another machine?
    Last edited by ScanMan; 11-22-2006 at 10:54 PM.
    ScanMan --> Just another Tivo hacker...
    Killhdinitrd SA S2 Monte S2 Unscramble Upgrade Tivo Software

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    5,601
    I believe the swsystem slice is unique to each model of TiVo. If you have 3 TCD240040's you only need to capture it once, it will work on all three systems. Don't try using that swsystem on a tcd140040, however.

    In my (limited) experience, you shouldn't have any problems using chrond to copy the slices. I did something similar using sleep. The slices total only about 15 meg, IIRC. It doesn't take very long to copy that much. After the files are downloaded, it takes the system about 5 minutes to dbload them, then it clears the /var/packages directory.

    Of course, while /var/packages is empty, the script takes virtually no time.

    PlainBill
    Last edited by PlainBill; 11-23-2006 at 01:14 AM.
    There's a difference between needing help, and just being plain ole' lazy.

    "You cannot teach a man anything. You can only help him find it for himself." Galileo Galilei (1564-1642)

    HR20-700 with 2 TB, HR22-100, HR22-100, HR22-100, HR23-100 all running 0x5cd and networked.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    4,075
    Quote Originally Posted by PlainBill View Post
    I believe the swsystem slice is unique to each model of TiVo. If you have 3 TCD240040's you only need to capture it once, it will work on all three systems. Don't try using that swsystem on a tcd140040, however.
    In principle, this is true, but in recent releases, 140's and 240's share exactly the same software, even down to the swsystem slice. In fact, the software version on the 240's identifies itself as -140. The concept is right, but the specific example is wrong!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •