Page 4 of 35 FirstFirst ... 2345614 ... LastLast
Results 46 to 60 of 524

Thread: FS: Full Service PROM Modification

  1. #46
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    574
    Quote Originally Posted by Roger Dylan View Post
    Is there any reason to think I am better off with a new s3 as opposed to one of the earlier ones? Tivo is offering to swap out my early s3 for a new one to address a very esoteric, limited, minor problem. But my research indicates a new one (newer firmware) will have no impact on the specific problem.

    So, should I just have the PROM modification done on an my original s3, or do the swap first?
    For what it's worth I just cracked open a brand new S3 and all the hardware and appears to be identical. I'm not sure what kind of update they could have made to it, or how it would even be apparent.

  2. #47
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    236
    Quote Originally Posted by Omikron View Post
    I'm glad to hear that! Good luck!
    I'd like to get a 2nd TiVo 649 prom replacement. The other one that you did earlier in the year has been working great.

    PS: is there a repeat customer discount?

  3. #48
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    236
    I finally got some time to work on the 2nd 649 TiVo.

    This one works just as good as the first. Very professional job, fast turn around, fast shipping.

  4. #49
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    1

    Smile Great service!

    I must say that Omikron offers a very valuable and professional service. Quick turnaround and perfect functionality on 3 DT's. Thank You.

  5. #50
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    574
    This is a reminder to anyone sending in their TiVo anytime soon that I will be unavailable for contact or service between July 31st and August 8th. During this time, I may not reply to any emails or PM's. Any TiVo unit's received on or before July 25th are guaranteed to go out before I leave. Any paid orders for PROM's placed up to July 30th are also guaranteed to go out before I leave.

    All that aside, average turn time is still about 1 business day for most units, but in rare cases up to 3.

  6. #51
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    574
    Again, this is the last chance to get a full PROM mod completed before my hiatus. For some reason every time I go on a break, I inevitably get someone jamming my PM Inbox full of "WHY AREN'T YOU RESPONDING!?!?111" messages.

  7. #52
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    East
    Posts
    1

    prom for r10

    Hi, I would like to send my r10 (series 2.5) unit to you for a prom mod, do you do those?

  8. #53
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Franklin, NC
    Posts
    71
    Do you do the HR10-250?

    Thanks,
    Dogbreath

  9. #54
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    236
    Quote Originally Posted by dogbreath View Post
    Do you do the HR10-250?

    Thanks,
    Dogbreath
    That one doesn't require a prom hack.

  10. #55
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    574
    As of tonight I am able to provide PROM chips for TiVoHD units.

  11. #56
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    6
    I'm a NEWBIE I have a series2 TIVO TCD540080
    SOFTWARE VERSION 7.2.0a-oth-01-2-540
    540-0001-D066-93DA
    Service level G: 082107

    Is this hackable without replacing the prom?

  12. #57
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    West of Bermuda
    Posts
    1,021
    Quote Originally Posted by hank66 View Post
    I'm a NEWBIE I have a series2 TIVO TCD540080
    did you try a search? i did, and using your exact model, i found the info within the first ten hits.

    edited to add: you also shouldn't ask the same question in multiple forums/threads

    ronny

  13. #58
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    6
    Yes I did but am confused, I keep hearing about killhdinitrd-0.9.3. I take it this still requires the prom upgrade?

  14. #59
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    West of Bermuda
    Posts
    1,021
    Quote Originally Posted by hank66 View Post
    I take it this still requires the prom upgrade?
    yes, it does

    ronny

  15. #60
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    6
    Thanks for your input. I returned the Tivo and found the Polaroid and Philips units that will work and they have the NTSC, ATSC tuners.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •