Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Hey folks!

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    730

    Hey folks!

    Been away for a while.

    Can somebody please tell me what the latest version is for an S1 DTivo unit?

    Thanks,

    Dennis
    Where'd Tivostuff.com go anyway?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    6,413
    3.5b. If you configure your S1 DTivo to allow updates and disable the nophone hack you should be able to get it after forcing a few phone calls. You might have to wait for it to download overnight first and then let it dial out. When you see the phone status indicate "Pending restart" just do a manual reboot to install the OS update. DirecTV and Tivo have been sending out updates to all Tivo models for the DST fix, with a few exceptions. I don't think they've updated the OS for the S1 SA models yet and I'm not sure about the DVD models but they've covered pretty much all others.
    Please don't PM me or any other members looking for personal assistance. You'll do better by posting (after you've exhausted the search feature, of course) and taking advantage of the collective expertise of the membership instead of a single individual that may or may not be able to help you. Thank you and enjoy your stay at DDB!

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    730
    My units can't dial out due to issues with my phone (crappy VOIP system).

    I'm just going to start compiling a list of what I need and then do it manually.

    I can live with the time being off for a while, as long as my recordings work.

    I only need it to not dial and the buffer hack, so it should be pretty easy.

    Thanks for the info, and good to see you again.

    Dennis
    Where'd Tivostuff.com go anyway?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    6,413
    If you have the slices resident in mfs then I'm assuming you can simply perform a manual upgrade using the modified installSw.itcl file just like with the S2 Tivos. BTW, Dennis, I couldn't help but notice you were posting in the newbie forum. You've been around here long enough to qualify posting with the big kids.
    Please don't PM me or any other members looking for personal assistance. You'll do better by posting (after you've exhausted the search feature, of course) and taking advantage of the collective expertise of the membership instead of a single individual that may or may not be able to help you. Thank you and enjoy your stay at DDB!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    884
    Just edit out the reboot in installSw.itcl. DD over a compatable LBA48 kernel (if you have a large hard drive) and make sure you kill the intrid and copy over your author file before you reboot. You don't have to flash your rom, if your unit is already hacked.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    730
    I know I'm supposed to be an old hand, but it's been a long time, so I posted here.

    I haven't ever worked with slices, always with images, so I need to learn that.

    I do want to keep my season passes and stuff, so that seems the best route.

    Now I have to learn all over again.

    LOL

    Dennis
    Where'd Tivostuff.com go anyway?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •