Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 18

Thread: Software version 6.3d now out for HR10-250.

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    317

    Software version 6.3d now out for HR10-250.

    nothing here
    Last edited by whitepelican; 04-19-2007 at 02:19 PM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    317
    Well, I have it installed and running. I'm not sure what the differences are from 6.3c, but I have verified all of the tivoapp patches are the same.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    333
    Quote Originally Posted by whitepelican View Post
    Well, I have it installed and running. I'm not sure what the differences are from 6.3c, but I have verified all of the tivoapp patches are the same.
    It's been reported elsewhere that the target is a problem in recording PPV while having use of the 2nd tuner.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Bergen County
    Posts
    1,303
    Yup, got it on mine too but not sure if I'll upgrade or not. Right now, I'll just wait and see what it really fixes.

    bash-2.02# mfs_ls /SwSystem
    dir: fsid=854 count=3
    fsid type name
    -----------------------------------
    499250 tyDb 6.3c-01-2-357
    772856 tyDb 6.3d-01-2-357
    499250 tyDb ACTIVE

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    2
    I have verified all of the tivoapp patches are the same
    The HMO/HME patches didn't work for me with this version.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    317
    Quote Originally Posted by Yog-Sothoth View Post
    The HMO/HME patches didn't work for me with this version.
    Then you did something wrong. I verified all the patch locations with a hex editor, and have all of the patches running now. The HME patch works fine.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    267
    Quote Originally Posted by whitepelican View Post
    Then you did something wrong. I verified all the patch locations with a hex editor, and have all of the patches running now. The HME patch works fine.
    In an effort to help verify this, and to contribute in my own little way, I did an md5sum of the filesystem for 6.3d. "tivoapp" is the only different file of any significance, however, I also verified all the patch points from this thread are still present in the same places with the same original values. So, yeah, I'm inclined to agree with whitepelican, you probably did something wrong if it's not working. Did you remember to convert the vma into a file offset?
    Last edited by mr_zorg; 04-22-2007 at 09:55 PM. Reason: clarified that tivoapp is the only changed file

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    2
    I did nothing differently from the other versions. With previous versions (6.3/a/b/c), I applied all of them (including encryption, 30-second skip, etc.) at once with no problems. However, today I applied only the HMO/HME patches, and it worked fine.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Dougal County
    Posts
    1,007
    Quote Originally Posted by Yog-Sothoth View Post
    I did nothing differently from the other versions.
    You had to have done something differently. The order you apply the patches and the combinations you use have no bearing. Cut and paste method for echo commands isn't always perfect.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    307
    I have a question for those of you who can disassemble tivoapp.

    What is the default value of vma 0x00a66f68 in the 6.3d tivoapp?

    I'm sure you guys can figure out what I did... I shouldn't be doing this stuff at 3am. lol

    I applied the 6.3 30sec patch instead of the 6.3c and apparently my HR10 already saw fit to trash my /var, where I had tivoapp.orig, on first reboot after applying patches.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Indianapolis
    Posts
    297
    Quote Originally Posted by Yazhol View Post
    What is the default value of vma 0x00a66f68 in the 6.3d tivoapp?
    It is 2C 63 02 57 00 02 10 27 this is at 0x00666F68. Verify if calculated vma correctly, vma 0x00A66F68 is file offset (hex) 0x00666F68 (dec) 6713192
    (2) UltimateTV - upgraded w/160GB
    (1) HR10-250 2TB 6.4a
    (1) HR10-250 620GB 6.4a
    (1) HR10-250 300GB 6.4a
    (3) HR21 (2) with AM21 & internal 2TB Seagate
    RandC

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    307
    Quote Originally Posted by RandC View Post
    It is 2C 63 02 57 00 02 10 27 this is at 0x00666F68. Verify if calculated vma correctly, vma 0x00A66F68 is file offset (hex) 0x00666F68 (dec) 6713192
    Thank you, thank you! You are a life saver!


    For those of you interested, when you use the 6.3 patch and the 6.3c patch you skip to the beginning of the recording using the button that is normally 30 sec skip. 30mins in, hit 30skip button and you're back at minute 1.

    And with the 30sec skip patch for 6.3 applied to 6.3d, alone, you get skip to tick.
    Last edited by Yazhol; 04-23-2007 at 11:33 AM.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    14
    I did a manual phone-home (HR10 running 6.3c) and I see the following in the tclient log:

    Apr 24 21:36:45 theatre PhoneHome[13951]: NewSoftware: getting SwSystem name
    Apr 24 21:36:45 theatre PhoneHome[13951]: NewSoftware: failure reading SwSystem 6.3d-01-2-357: 0x30001
    I see in MFS that /State/ServiceConfig has SwSystemName=6.3d-01-2-357. but /SwSystem doesn't have 6.3d in it. I managed to use dbset to set SWSystemName back to 6.3c and tried a phone home, hoping that would cause it to download 6.3d, but all it did was set the variable back to 6.3d but no download of the new version. It also doesn't seem to be in the stream anymore - it didn't come down during the nightly download. :-(

    Anyone have any brilliant ideas?
    Last edited by bobblob; 04-25-2007 at 02:03 PM. Reason: Changing to discuss failure...

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    95
    Quote Originally Posted by mr_zorg View Post
    In an effort to help verify this, and to contribute in my own little way, I did an md5sum of the filesystem for 6.3d. "tivoapp" is the only different file of any significance, however, I also verified all the patch points from this thread are still present in the same places with the same original values. So, yeah, I'm inclined to agree with whitepelican, you probably did something wrong if it's not working. Did you remember to convert the vma into a file offset?
    Thank you for verifying that tivoapp was the only thing to change in this release.
    TheSaint

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    274
    has anyone seen the 6.3d slices available for download anywhere?
    They say beer will make me dumb. It are go good with pizza!-----------
    3XR10, prommed, 3xdvr40,4xdvr39, all networked, ranging from 40GB to 750GB

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •