Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 16 to 30 of 42

Thread: Serial Console on THD.

  1. #16
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Dougal County
    Posts
    1,007
    Quote Originally Posted by ciper View Post
    If I have no modifications to the file system will I see any output from the serial port of a THD?
    you'll have to at least edit your bootpage.

  2. #17
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    504
    Allright. I had hoped it would at least output the boot process without modification.

    Is there any way to modify the boot page without modifying the kernel? I know it sounds odd but I have an active prom mod but I need to leave the drive untouched.

  3. #18
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Dougal County
    Posts
    1,007
    you don't need to hack the kernel to add dsscon and console to your bootpage.

  4. #19
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    420
    You can pull the drive and modify the bootpage without tinkering with the kernel. I believe that a stock kernel will still honor that bootpage setting (dsscon).

  5. #20
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Posts
    1,243

    serial cable

    Here is an inexpensive ($4.00 deleivered) usb serial cable that works, just need to cut the "nokia" end off and replace with mini molex.

    http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...m=330301125585

  6. #21
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    504
    That is EXACTLY what I am already using. Stop stealing my ideas

    If anyone needs the latest XP driver for this cable I have it. 2.0.0.26

    edit: Rather than trying to send the file to everyone please see this link instead http://support.gateway.com/support/d...2303.exe&st=fn
    Download the file "PL-2303.exe - Gateway Dock Driver Version: 4.0.100.1190" and ignore the name because it's the most stripped down version of the driver you can get.
    Last edited by ciper; 02-22-2009 at 06:25 AM.

  7. #22
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Posts
    1,243
    I had trouble with the driver ciper suggested with Vista.
    I found this one works.
    Here is the link for an "all in one" driver.

    PL-2303 USB to Serial Bridge (H, HX, X) Installshield Driver Setup Program
    v3.3.3.114 for Windows Vista and Server 2008 (32-bit and 64-bit)
    v2.0.5.111 for Windows 2K/XP/2003 (32-bit)

    Info
    http://www.prolific.com.tw/eng/downloads.asp?ID=31
    Driver PL2303_Prolific_DriverInstaller_1025.zip.
    http://www.prolific.com.tw/support/f...aller_1025.zip
    Last edited by T_RJ; 02-22-2009 at 01:52 PM. Reason: Clarification.

  8. #23
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    504
    Mine was for XP
    Post edited

  9. #24
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Posts
    1,243
    Edited my post above for clarification.

  10. #25
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    221
    Seems the ebay links in this thread are dead. Can anyone clarify what they pointed to?

    Also, could an mc1488/mc1489 chip work in place of the max232 in this situation?

  11. #26
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Posts
    1,243
    search on ebay for "USB DATA CABLE CA-42"
    There are many for under $4.00 delivered.
    Here is a link to an example.
    CA-42

  12. #27
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    221
    Thanks! actually a friend had one he was not using. if you don't mind, what is the pinout for it? thanks.

  13. #28
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Posts
    1,243
    pinouts Nokia CA-42

    TiVo HD pinouts labeled on the MB.

  14. #29
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    221
    Well, the nokia thing never wanted to work for me. The drivers would never recognize the device or whatever, it just didn't work. So, I just made the MAX232 com board and made the jack myself. Looks better this way anyway I think.

    Attached are pics of the completed project and the schematic I used to create the com board. I used 1uF instead of .1uF caps.

    If anyone is wondering for early bash, you need to insmod /platform/lib/modules/bcmtty_Gen06.o on TivoHD instead of bcm7315tty.o as in the 540's, and it uses ttyS1 not ttyS2.

  15. #30
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Sonoran Desert
    Posts
    2,829
    I am not well versed when it comes to different chip nomenclatures. What kind of max232 chip should I look for? There are literally hundreds of variations. Trying to find this and the caps on digikey.

    Right now I am guessing this one should be voltage compatible:

    http://search.digikey.com/scripts/Dk...e=MAX232CPE-ND

    And I am guessing it should be sufficient for 115200 baud? Or do you need the max232a for that? Also what kind of caps should I get? (thermal tolerance, form factor, voltage, etc as I am not sure what limits I would be dealing with here.)

    EDIT: Then again, I am guessing one of these would be cheaper and easier, not to mention neater.

    http://cgi.ebay.com/MAX232-RS232-to-...d=p3286.c0.m14
    Last edited by AlphaWolf; 07-27-2009 at 03:13 PM.
    Before PMing me: Iím not your personal tech support. If you have a question, ask in public so I don't have to repeat if somebody else asks. If you want images or slices, use emule. I will ignore all support PMs.

    Sponsor a vegetarian! I have taken the pledge, how about you?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •