Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Any user for a S2 Standalone?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    669

    Any user for a S2 Standalone?

    I have inherited a 80gb S2 Standalone with Lifetime.

    My current household is composed of 3 Directv hdvr2's that have been hacked and use MRV extensively

    The question is, Is this SA unit any use to me in this environment? Can I hack it and use it as a play only unit off of my HVR2s?

    If I were to sell it on SleazeBay or something what is it worth?
    Four Hacked HDVR2's,
    One Still slightly confused Hacker,
    4 dogs, 8 cats, and 1 wife that is happy as long as I don't screw up her TiVo ...... Oh yeah two grandchildren that are the light of my life!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    5,601
    Question: Why did you post in a non-tivo section?

    Suggestion: Go to www.ebay.com, search on your model of TiVo and 'lifetime'. Look at closing prices of completed auctions. Or if you would rather take my word for it, it's worth about $5.00 Because you're a nice guy, I'll give you $10, + $15 for shipping.

    Request: Mods, please move this to the newbie forum.

    PlainBill
    There's a difference between needing help, and just being plain ole' lazy.

    "You cannot teach a man anything. You can only help him find it for himself." Galileo Galilei (1564-1642)

    HR20-700 with 2 TB, HR22-100, HR22-100, HR22-100, HR23-100 all running 0x5cd and networked.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    669
    Quote Originally Posted by PlainBill View Post
    Question: Why did you post in a non-tivo section?

    Suggestion: Go to www.ebay.com, search on your model of TiVo and 'lifetime'. Look at closing prices of completed auctions. Or if you would rather take my word for it, it's worth about $5.00 Because you're a nice guy, I'll give you $10, + $15 for shipping.

    Request: Mods, please move this to the newbie forum.

    PlainBill
    I posted it here because the first question I had was if it was of any use for it in a Directv-SA connection... Can I for example put it in a spare bedroom and use it as a MRV connection to my HDVR's?

    I was looking for general Directv compatiblity info. It is not a newbie question. It closer fits a general discussion question...
    Four Hacked HDVR2's,
    One Still slightly confused Hacker,
    4 dogs, 8 cats, and 1 wife that is happy as long as I don't screw up her TiVo ...... Oh yeah two grandchildren that are the light of my life!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    4,075
    This is a forum area (I think) for non-TiVo DirectTV DVRs. That's why it seemed out of place.

    A SAS2 running current software can't MRV with dtivos. You could run old software, but you probably couldn't connect with the tivo service then and would get no benefit from the lifetime service.

    If you want a play only MRV unit, another dtivo is probably the cheapest alternative. I don't think it needs to be hooked up or even have an access card, as far as I know.

    I'll bet you can get a few hundred dollars for a lifetime SAS2 unit still on ebay. Sell it sooner rather than later, because I think the value of the Series2 units, even with lifetime, will be dropping fast.
    Last edited by Jamie; 01-16-2008 at 05:18 PM.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    West of Bermuda
    Posts
    1,017
    moved to "general tivo discussions"

    ronny

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    669
    [QUOTE=Jamie;293016]This is a forum area (I think) for non-TiVo DirectTV DVRs. That's why it seemed out of place.
    QUOTE]

    Thanks, I understand....
    Four Hacked HDVR2's,
    One Still slightly confused Hacker,
    4 dogs, 8 cats, and 1 wife that is happy as long as I don't screw up her TiVo ...... Oh yeah two grandchildren that are the light of my life!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •