Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 20

Thread: TiVo UI Control via Telnet - No Hacking Required!

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    574

    TiVo UI Control via Telnet - No Hacking Required!

    As many of you may have already heard, TiVo added support for Crestron systems back in software version 9.1 but there isn't a whole lot of information available about from TiVo or from Crestron.

    After thinking about it for a small while, my curiosity was piqued, and I decided to try and figure out the protocol Crestron was using to talk to an unhacked TiVo, and how we non-Crestron users could somehow harness it.

    As it turns out both the TiVo HD and Series3 units now listen on port 31339 for connections from a Crestron device. What is really interesting about this discovery is that this service is enabled and accessible by default on a stock Series3 running software 9.1 and up. There is NO HACKING REQUIRED to use this interface.

    The protocol and its commands aren't published, but some heavy digging on Crestron and debugging the tivoapp binary resulted in some interested finds.

    If you telnet into your TiVo on port 31339, you will be presented with the following:

    Code:
    CH_STATUS <CHANNEL> <STATUS>
    This prompt reflects the current status of the TiVo and will tell you the current channel being watched, and if it's being recorded.

    Once the telnet session is started, the following commands are available:


    KEYBOARD - The current purpose and syntax of this command is unknown.

    TELEPORT <PLACE>- I'm not sure why this command exists, because I believe anything that TELEPORT does can also be accomplished via IRCODE. That said, the four currently known places you can "teleport" to are TIVO, LIVETV, GUIDE, and NOWPLAYING.

    SETCH <CHANNEL> - This command will change the channel on the current tuner being watched to the channel number defined. If the current tuner is recording a program, it will change the other tuner. If both tuners are recording, the channel will not change and the TiVo will respond with "CH_FAILED RECORDING "Show Title". Using this command when a recording is being played back will result in "CH_FAILED NO_LIVE".

    FORCECH <CHANNEL> - This command will force the current tuner to the tune the desired channel regardless of what it's doing. If a recording is being recorded it will cancel the recording and change the channel without confirmation.

    IRCODE <COMMAND> - IRCODE seems to mimic the old "sendkey" command in almost every way. While it can't handle multiple commands on one line, almost all of the commands listed in sendkey.tcl are valid and working.


    The following is a list of IRCODE commands that I have verified as working:

    Code:
    UP
    DOWN
    LEFT
    RIGHT
    SELECT
    TIVO
    LIVETV
    THUMBSUP
    THUMBSDOWN
    CHANNELUP
    CHANNELDOWN
    RECORD
    DISPLAY
    DIRECTV
    NUM0
    NUM1
    NUM2
    NUM3
    NUM4
    NUM5
    NUM6
    NUM7
    NUM8
    NUM9
    ENTER
    CLEAR
    PLAY
    PAUSE
    SLOW
    FORWARD
    REVERSE
    STANDBY
    NOWSHOWING
    REPLAY
    ADVANCE
    DELIMITER
    GUIDE
    If take too long to type a command, it will result in COMMAND_TIMEOUT since the interface was designed to receive whole and complete commands, and was not designed to be used manually via telnet.

    That's all I've found for now, but I'll be sure to post updates as they come along.
    .-=Omikron=-.

    TiVo Series4 Premiere Development HERE

    Do you have a PROM related question? Check HERE and HERE before sending me a PM. Any questions that have already been answered will be deleted if sent via PM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    574
    [reserved Post]
    .-=Omikron=-.

    TiVo Series4 Premiere Development HERE

    Do you have a PROM related question? Check HERE and HERE before sending me a PM. Any questions that have already been answered will be deleted if sent via PM.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    574
    It would appear that the <STATUS> field has 3 states: LOCAL, REMOTE, and RECORDING

    It would appear so far that LOCAL refers to the current tuner being watched, REMOTE refers to the tuner not being watched, and RECORDING means that the current tuner is recording.

    Can someone do some testing and confirm or refute this?
    .-=Omikron=-.

    TiVo Series4 Premiere Development HERE

    Do you have a PROM related question? Check HERE and HERE before sending me a PM. Any questions that have already been answered will be deleted if sent via PM.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    507
    Seems like a simple script could be created to give a useable UI to the interface that would also prevent the timeout errors. BTW news sites picked up the story a day after your post. I wonder if you are the source?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    574
    Quote Originally Posted by ciper View Post
    Seems like a simple script could be created to give a useable UI to the interface that would also prevent the timeout errors. BTW news sites picked up the story a day after your post. I wonder if you are the source?
    Actually, I posted this on both TCF and DDB and it seems the TCF thread got far, far more attention. Zatz saw it on TCF, blogged it, and then it got linked by Engadget. That said, I haven't seen any new useful info posted on the TCF side of things so hopefully we'll see some more technical discussion happen on the DDB side.
    .-=Omikron=-.

    TiVo Series4 Premiere Development HERE

    Do you have a PROM related question? Check HERE and HERE before sending me a PM. Any questions that have already been answered will be deleted if sent via PM.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Parkland, FL
    Posts
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by Omikron View Post
    Actually, I posted this on both TCF and DDB and it seems the TCF thread got far, far more attention. Zatz saw it on TCF, blogged it, and then it got linked by Engadget. That said, I haven't seen any new useful info posted on the TCF side of things so hopefully we'll see some more technical discussion happen on the DDB side.
    I found your site....Thanks

    I saw this posted in the Cienmar forums. I think mainlobby will be the first to get this running with two way interface.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    588
    Anymore word on a program to really make this functional?

    If not, I'll put something together'

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Dougal County
    Posts
    1,014
    Quote Originally Posted by philhu View Post
    Anymore word on a program to really make this functional?

    If not, I'll put something together'
    http://tivocommunity.com/tivo-vb/sho...75#post6495375

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    1

    30 TiVo UI Control via Telnet - No Hacking Required!

    hi,



    Anymore word on a program to really make this functional?

    If not, I'll put something together'

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    3
    Quote Originally Posted by IvanLewis View Post
    hi,

    Anymore word on a program to really make this functional?

    If not, I'll put something together'
    Bump. I too am curious.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    507
    Both of you obviously missed post #8

    The latest version is can be found here http://tivocommunity.com/tivo-vb/showpost.php?p=6869402

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    4

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    3
    Quote Originally Posted by Omikron View Post
    As it turns out both the TiVo HD and Series3 units now listen on port 31339 for connections from a Crestron device.
    Hi,

    Do you know what program causes the tivo to listen on 31339? The Australian TiVo HD's don't appear to be listening on this port, but I would like it to. Perhaps someone could attach a copy of the binary so that I set it up on my TiVo?

    Thanks.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    574
    Quote Originally Posted by junk22 View Post
    Hi,

    Do you know what program causes the tivo to listen on 31339? The Australian TiVo HD's don't appear to be listening on this port, but I would like it to. Perhaps someone could attach a copy of the binary so that I set it up on my TiVo?

    Thanks.
    As far as I can tell it's not a separate binary, but rather the tivoapp program itself.
    .-=Omikron=-.

    TiVo Series4 Premiere Development HERE

    Do you have a PROM related question? Check HERE and HERE before sending me a PM. Any questions that have already been answered will be deleted if sent via PM.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Dougal County
    Posts
    1,014
    Quote Originally Posted by junk22 View Post
    Hi,

    Do you know what program causes the tivo to listen on 31339? The Australian TiVo HD's don't appear to be listening on this port, but I would like it to. Perhaps someone could attach a copy of the binary so that I set it up on my TiVo?

    Thanks.
    if you've hacked your tivo, you could just use sendkeyplus

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •