Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: Are there any hacks for The TIVO HD?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    4

    Arrow Are there any hacks for The TIVO HD?

    I would like to know if theres a hack to allow tivo to play any video file. like upgrade its codec, etc to play .mkv videos

    without converting them

    I have the TIVO HD. dont know if thats a series 2 or series 3. cause its not the THX version

    does anyone know a site or place that do hack for TIVO HD

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    1,008
    Quote Originally Posted by itzthrillz View Post
    I would like to know if theres a hack to allow tivo to play any video file. like upgrade its codec, etc to play .mkv videos

    without converting them

    I have the TIVO HD. dont know if thats a series 2 or series 3. cause its not the THX version

    does anyone know a site or place that do hack for TIVO HD
    Look into something called pyTivo - although I'm not sure of it's ability to transfer mkv files. pytivo does not require a hacked tivo but FYI you have a Series 3 (TivoHD) which requires a hardware (PROM) mod to hack.
    Last edited by ScanMan; 07-20-2008 at 01:37 PM.
    ScanMan --> Just another Tivo hacker...
    Killhdinitrd SA S2 Monte S2 Unscramble Upgrade Tivo Software

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    4
    Can u direct me exact url link to where to start?

    also whhat does the mod doo? what else features

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    831
    It's not a hack. The utility pyTivo will convert the file on the fly without user intervention (which is what I believe you want). There is no way to get the TiVo to play a video other than an MPEG-2 without converting it, but using pyTivo one needn't transcode manually. Note transcoding takes longer than simply transferring, and you may not be able to transfer HD video with recoding in real time. If your system is moderately fast, transferring SD video in real time should be no problem. Using pyTivo does not require hacking the TiVo in any way.
    Having trouble with TyTool? Try TyTool Documentation
    Need to hack an S3 / THD? Try S3 Hacking Script

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    4
    is there a program. where can u can transfer HD recovers from tivo to your pc? without tivo desktop. cause some HD recording saying copyright protection and cant move them over

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Dougal County
    Posts
    1,007
    Quote Originally Posted by itzthrillz View Post
    is there a program.
    the name 'pyTivo' has already been said 4 times. see what the google search engine tells you about it.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    4,075
    Quote Originally Posted by jt1134 View Post
    the name 'pyTivo' has already been said 4 times. see what the google search engine tells you about it.
    I don't think it's going to help for copy protected programs (that is, CCI byte != 0x00). For that, you need a hacked tivo.
    Last edited by Jamie; 07-20-2008 at 02:09 PM.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Dougal County
    Posts
    1,007
    Quote Originally Posted by Jamie View Post
    I don't think it's going to help for copy protected programs (that is, CCI byte != 0x00). For that, you need a hacked tivo.
    duh@me, thanks jamie. would tivodecode not work in this situation? you'd lose the show metadata but otherwise the file could be decrypted.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    4,075
    Quote Originally Posted by jt1134 View Post
    duh@me, thanks jamie. would tivodecode not work in this situation? you'd lose the show metadata but otherwise the file could be decrypted.
    You can't transfer CCI!=0x00 shows using TTG protocol with any tools that I know of -- the tivo won't allow it. You have to hack your tivo and either figure out how to override the CCI code, or use other extraction tools (e.g. mfs_ftp). Comcast in my area marks all the digital channels, other than the OTA simulcasts, as CCI=0x02.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    831
    For non-copy protected shows, however, galleon works famously, and requires no hacking. If TiVo Desktop or MRV can transfer the file, then galleon can, as well. For encrypted files, you'll need to break out the soldering iron, or get someone to do a prom mod for you. Search this forum for info on prom mods. Search "the other TiVo forum" for info on galleon, or go here.
    Having trouble with TyTool? Try TyTool Documentation
    Need to hack an S3 / THD? Try S3 Hacking Script

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    4
    Is there a site to buy mods? for tivo

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    831
    'Not exactly. There are a handful of forum participants who are capable and willing to mod a TiVo for you. The main one is Omikron, but he is not doing any prom mods himself at the moment. If you're good with a soldering iron on surface mount chips, you can buy the PROM from him and DIY. Otherwise, you will either need to wait for Omikron's next PROM day (hopefully either later this summer or in the fall), or find someone else willling to do it for you.

    Omikron's PROM mod thread is here.
    Last edited by lrhorer; 07-24-2008 at 12:55 AM.
    Having trouble with TyTool? Try TyTool Documentation
    Need to hack an S3 / THD? Try S3 Hacking Script

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •