Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst ... 2345 LastLast
Results 46 to 60 of 67

Thread: Does Homieflash work on a modified THD?

  1. #46
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    504
    Quote Originally Posted by bcc View Post
    If you just use stock homieflash, then it only reads&writes 128k with the -d and -w options, even though the flash chip or input file may be larger. So not sure why you think the 2nd 128k has a duplicate copy of the first 128k; I bet it's really just filled with 0xff.
    I will double check but as I remember I dumped the rom and ended up with a 256k file that was duplicated internally.

    Quote Originally Posted by bcc View Post
    Enjoy, I still need to upgrade to full 1080p myself.
    Configuring a set such as this is nearly impossible. There are SOOOOO many options which interact with each other that even AVSforums threads specific to the unit aren't much help. An even bigger issue is that there isn't an accurate description for many of the Sony specific settings :/

    Quote Originally Posted by bcc View Post
    It's only worth testing the 28F010/20 chips, the 28F001BX is harder to flash so I didn't code it up.
    Will do.

  2. #47
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    1,076
    Quote Originally Posted by ciper View Post
    I will double check but as I remember I dumped the rom and ended up with a 256k file that was duplicated internally.
    The versions I've compiled have FLASH_SIZE set to 0x20000 which is just 128k, and that puts a hard cap on the I/O.

    Quote Originally Posted by ciper View Post
    Configuring a set such as this is nearly impossible. There are SOOOOO many options which interact with each other that even AVSforums threads specific to the unit aren't much help. An even bigger issue is that there isn't an accurate description for many of the Sony specific settings :/
    That forum normally represents more of a consumer fan club than tech support. Yes, they've got a critical mass of users with various technical experience and some in the "biz" but nobody responsible to answer or fix anything.

    For me, with my display tuned "pixel perfect" with an htpc, neither 720p nor 1080i mode on the tivo exactly matches up for all HD channels.
    To see for yourself you probably want to convert some HD test patterns to .mpg and then use TTCB to get them onto your tivo. But that's a whole new thread...

  3. #48
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    504
    Quote Originally Posted by bcc View Post
    The versions I've compiled have FLASH_SIZE set to 0x20000 which is just 128k, and that puts a hard cap on the I/O.
    It was dumped with fboot on the dual nic card,,, it may be the source of the duplication. If I dump with your homieflash on a 256k chip will I get a 128k file?

    As far as Fboot compatibility I had these notes -
    fboot
    37vf010 unable to clear
    intel n28 not detected
    39vf020 writes
    39sf020 bfb6 unable to clear
    29ee512 bf07 unable to clear
    28f020 writes
    at29c010a 1fd5 unable to clear
    w29ee011p dac1 unable to clear
    29f040qc c2a4 unable to clear

  4. #49
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    1,076
    Quote Originally Posted by ciper View Post
    It was dumped with fboot on the dual nic card,,, it may be the source of the duplication. If I dump with your homieflash on a 256k chip will I get a 128k file?
    Right. And the flash write would have been just 128k (leaving the 2nd 128k all 0xff).

    Here's a new homieflash that doesn't limit the I/O to 128k. It will read&write the size based upon the chip identity (if it can figure it out; otherwise 128k).
    Last edited by bcc; 01-19-2009 at 10:08 PM. Reason: newer version below

  5. #50
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    7
    So I've been following this thread as I'm in the process of doing the same thing - about to pull the PROM out of my TivoHD, but practicing on two old DTivos my dad gave me.

    So did we get consensus on whether homieflash will just READ the SST 37? I have plenty of spare SST39's (from Mouser) that I've tested and can read/write so I just need to be able to read the PROM contents.

    I have the SST 37VF010 70-3C-NH pulled from the old DTivo. Using an Intel Epro 100, fboot can't read the chip and based on the previous posts, that's expected as it's not a supported flash chip for fboot.

    Using Fedora 10 LiveCD, eepro100-diag, and homieflash, I'm getting the following when I try and dump the eeprom contents:

    Code:
    <root@localhost test># ./homieflash -f fe800000 -d dumpfile
    Setting FLASH_START=fe800000
    flash id 0bf0: ID COMMAND FAILED (may be older prom such as SST37)
    Flash size: 131072
    Dumping flash contents to dumpfile...
    Segmentation fault
    Only reason I'm interested is I'm staring down at my TivoHD and it has the exact same PROM type. (SST37)

  6. #51
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    7
    Ugh - OK. I should have waited just a few more tries before pressing Post!

    I just tried it with homieflash 1.3 and it worked fine. I was using the homieflash 1.4 posted above and that was causing the seg fault.

  7. #52
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    1,076
    Yes, homieflash can read, but not write, sst37 chips.

    I had introduced a sizing bug in 1.4 which was causing reads of sst37 chips (which unlike the other chips, don't identify their size) to segfault. Here's a fixed image.

    Never heard back from ciper as to whether the latest homieflash correctly burns intel flash chips.

    [Update: See newer version below]
    Last edited by bcc; 04-01-2010 at 01:36 PM.

  8. #53
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    1,076
    One more bug from that 1.4 cleanup... The -w command was broken (doh).
    Guess nobody cared to try it until now

    New version with fix attached.

  9. #54
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Los Angeles County, CA
    Posts
    40

    Still problems with homieflash 1.6

    bcc:

    I think there was a compile problem with 1.6, or mabe the zipping process, becasese believe it or not, I manager to install a gcc compiler on this Fedora live cd. I did a plain gcc homie.c , and actually got a usable executable.


    EXCEPT, now I'm stuck here:

    [root@localhost thumb]# ./homieflashx -f ef000000 -w ./v1_06.bin
    Setting FLASH_START=ef000000
    flash id bfd5: SST39VF010
    Flash size: 131072
    erasing...
    programming...
    FATAL: error writing to 00010000: wrote 51, got 01
    [root@localhost thumb]# ./eepro100-diag -B -v


    I know that another user had a problem with that boundary also --- just want to pint out this is an original socket -- not one I installed.



    THis is after the attempted flash:

    eepro100-diag.c:v2.13 2/28/2005 Donald Becker (becker@scyld.com)
    http://www.scyld.com/diag/index.html
    Index #1: Found a Intel i82557/8/9 EtherExpressPro100 adapter at 0xd000.
    EEPROM contents, size 64x16:
    00: e001 9827 f0d5 0100 0000 0201 4701 0000 __'__________G__
    0x08: 6976 8002 4581 0009 8086 0000 0000 0000 vi___E__________
    ...
    0x30: 0000 0007 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 ________________
    0x38: 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 b059 ______________Y_
    ***** The EEPROM checksum is INCORRECT! *****
    The checksum is 0x12E7, it should be 0xBABA!
    Intel EtherExpress Pro 10/100 EEPROM contents:
    Station address 01:E0:27:985:F0.
    Receiver lock-up bug exists. (The driver work-around *is* implemented.)
    Board assembly 697680-002, Physical connectors present: RJ45
    Primary interface chip i82555 PHY #1.
    [root@localhost thumb]#



    Just as a reminder,my card info:

    00:09.0 Ethernet controller: Intel Corporation 82557/8/9/0/1 Ethernet Pro 100 (rev 05)
    Subsystem: Intel Corporation 82558B PRO/100+ PCI (TP)
    Flags: medium devsel, IRQ 17
    Memory at ef100000 (32-bit, prefetchable) [size=4K]
    I/O ports at d000 [size=32]
    Memory at ef000000 (32-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=1M]
    [virtual] Expansion ROM at 80000000 [disabled] [size=1M]
    Capabilities: [dc] Power Management version 1
    Kernel modules: e100

    ./eepro100-diag -B -v
    eepro100-diag.c:v2.13 2/28/2005 Donald Becker (becker@scyld.com)
    http://www.scyld.com/diag/index.html
    Index #1: Found a Intel i82557/8/9 EtherExpressPro100 adapter at 0xd000.
    i82557 chip registers at 0xd000:
    01000000 00000000 00000000 00080001 183fffff 00000000
    No interrupt sources are pending.
    The transmit unit state is 'Idle'.
    The receive unit state is 'Idle'.
    This status is unusual for an activated interface.
    The Command register has an unprocessed command 0100(?!).
    Intel EtherExpress Pro 10/100 EEPROM contents:
    Station address 01:E0:27:985:F0.
    Receiver lock-up bug exists. (The driver work-around *is* implemented.)
    Board assembly 697680-002, Physical connectors present: RJ45
    Primary interface chip i82555 PHY #1.
    Primary transceiver is MII PHY #1. MII PHY #1 transceiver registers:
    3000 7809 02a8 0150 05e1 0000 0000 ffff
    ffff ffff ffff ffff ffff ffff ffff ffff
    0000 0000 0001 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000
    0000 0000 0000 0000 ffff ffff ffff ffff.

  10. #55
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    1,076
    My previous binary was 64 bit, here's a 32 bit version (that would also work for 64 bit distros).

    I typically build 32 bit versions for the extra portability but the makefile defaults to native architecture (which for me is 64 bit, of course). Doesn't everyone have 64 bit by now? Guess not.

    Here's a 32 bit version.
    Last edited by bcc; 04-02-2010 at 04:02 AM.

  11. #56
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    1,076
    Quote Originally Posted by dcbarry View Post
    bcc:

    FATAL: error writing to 00010000: wrote 51, got 01
    [root@localhost thumb]# ./eepro100-diag -B -v
    The eepro100 step is mandatory and must come first, else the memory region is left read only.

    Edit: Only closer inspection it does look like you're just having trouble after the first 64K. I assume your chip really is an
    SST39VF010?
    Last edited by bcc; 04-02-2010 at 04:10 AM.

  12. #57
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Los Angeles County, CA
    Posts
    40
    Yep, running the eepro100-diag step first.

    And yes, it is definately the right chip:

    /homieflash -f EF000000 -w ./v1_06.bin
    Setting FLASH_START=ef000000
    flash id bfd5: SST39VF010 <====================
    Flash size: 131072
    erasing...
    programming...
    FATAL: error writing to 00010000: wrote 51, got 01



    Dave

  13. #58
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    1,076
    So what do you get when you read all 128k from the chip? Does the second half come out as 0xff's or a duplicate copy of the first half?

  14. #59
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Los Angeles County, CA
    Posts
    40
    Bcc:

    Im responsding from work, so I don't have access to my hardware at this moment. I should have written out EPROM, but thouight about that after I was here.


    However, I think for the moment we can assume the answer is the 2nd half is not a copy of the first :

    FATAL: error writing to 00010000: wrote 51, got 01


    However, byte 00000000 in the .bin file is "0B", which it must have verified as it went around. (Just for giggles, I also verified that 00010000 is "51" in the file.)



    As we discussed, I followed the instructions to executethe eepro100-diag command, but can you elaborate a bit more on what it does, and why it is a prereq to running homieflash? You mentioned that it "unlocks" (my inter[pretation) the PROM? Perhaps the full range needs to be "unlocked"?


    Also, my NIC is using the Intel i82558B. I'm trying to find any info / data sheet that indicates if there is a limit on the flash BIOS it supported... nto luck so far in my scans. I thought I read somewhere that FBOOT and such were limited in what they could write, which if there was a smaller limit in the hardware in those days might make sense. ...???

  15. #60
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Los Angeles County, CA
    Posts
    40

    82558 Datasheet

    Just found this

    "82558 Ethernet Controller
    Software Developerís Manual"

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •