Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: HR20 and my old dish...

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Posts
    79

    HR20 and my old dish...

    Hi, I just bought an HR20 on ebay (i live in canada) to replace my DTivo until the new ones come out. From what I have read so far, it looks like I need to replace my awsome 36x24 dish with the new 5 lnb dish if I want to receive the new mpeg4 channels.

    This seems odd to me as the dishes and lnbs are (or were) pretty standard.

    Does anyone know how to install a non-standard dish to receive the new(er) mpeg4 hd channels?

    Thanks,

    Milhouse

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Posts
    79
    I Think I figured it out. Go buy a WB68 and install it with the "old dish" pointed to 101,110,119. I don't need the local as I have the networks in NY.

    Please correct me if I am wrong.

    Milhouse

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    5,601
    Quote Originally Posted by milhouse View Post
    I Think I figured it out. Go buy a WB68 and install it with the "old dish" pointed to 101,110,119. I don't need the local as I have the networks in NY.

    Please correct me if I am wrong.

    Milhouse
    You're wrong. Your old dish won't pick up the mpeg4 satellites at 99 and 101. Do you think DirecTV designed the new 5 lnb dish just so they can spend millions installing them?

    PlainBill
    There's a difference between needing help, and just being plain ole' lazy.

    "You cannot teach a man anything. You can only help him find it for himself." Galileo Galilei (1564-1642)

    HR20-700 with 2 TB, HR22-100, HR22-100, HR22-100, HR23-100 all running 0x5cd and networked.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Posts
    79
    Hi PlainBill, thanks for the reply. I guess it's the additional Ka LNBs and integrated switching that I would be missing.

    Milhouse

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Millbrook, AL
    Posts
    1
    I'm looking to do the same thing, purchase a HR20 off eBay... So how many HD channels (not including locals) would I be missing if I don't upgrade my dish? Is it worth the effort/cost?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Noo Hampsha
    Posts
    767
    You'd miss pretty much all of them.
    Steve

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    5,601
    Quote Originally Posted by tindallh View Post
    I'm looking to do the same thing, purchase a HR20 off eBay... So how many HD channels (not including locals) would I be missing if I don't upgrade my dish? Is it worth the effort/cost?
    Seriously, it's a bad idea from the start. Most (but probably not all) HR2x's were distributed as leased units. DirecTV will refuse to allow you to resubscribe them. If you find one that was actually an 'Owned' unit, the seller will want an unreasonable amount of money for it - WAY more than $200. The last I saw the seller wanted $450. Without a 'Slimline' or equivalent dish the only HD channels you would receive would be HBO HD (if you subscribe to HBO), ESPN HD, ESPN2 HD, TNT HD, and HDTheatre.

    If you are in good standing with DirecTV, you can order an HR2X HD-DVR for $99 + shipping ($20) online, and they will install the appropriate dish.

    Now, if you have serious, realistic concerns that you will not be able to subscribe to DirecTV for the next two years (your employer is going out of business), this may not be a good choice. If you 'don't like being tied down', well life is about making commitments.

    PlainBill
    There's a difference between needing help, and just being plain ole' lazy.

    "You cannot teach a man anything. You can only help him find it for himself." Galileo Galilei (1564-1642)

    HR20-700 with 2 TB, HR22-100, HR22-100, HR22-100, HR23-100 all running 0x5cd and networked.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    27
    I know this is an old thread but just to clear it a bit. I just got off the phone with DTV. Almost all of the H20-600 are owned units so if you can get one of those you should be fine. You will have to call DTV with the receiver ID before buying to make sure it is an owned unit and the account was closed in good standing. I just bought one for $75.00 including shipping. Add th $20 for the new card and im under the $99+shipping and no commitment with DTV.
    Hughes SD-DVR80 250 GB

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    5,601
    Quote Originally Posted by Nandy View Post
    I know this is an old thread but just to clear it a bit. I just got off the phone with DTV. Almost all of the H20-600 are owned units so if you can get one of those you should be fine. You will have to call DTV with the receiver ID before buying to make sure it is an owned unit and the account was closed in good standing. I just bought one for $75.00 including shipping. Add th $20 for the new card and im under the $99+shipping and no commitment with DTV.
    One possible problem. Did you buy an H20-600 or an HR20-600?

    PlainBill
    There's a difference between needing help, and just being plain ole' lazy.

    "You cannot teach a man anything. You can only help him find it for himself." Galileo Galilei (1564-1642)

    HR20-700 with 2 TB, HR22-100, HR22-100, HR22-100, HR23-100 all running 0x5cd and networked.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •