Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 79

Thread: 11.0f sitting in MFS

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Chicago Burbs
    Posts
    160

    11.0f sitting in MFS

    Don't know if this is the final version of 11.0f, it's listed as 11.0f.N1 on my TivoHD.
    Following patches were tested on the TivoHD

    Code:
    array set patch_11.0f {
    0x005d3788 "104000aa 100000aa"
    0x0077419c "00008021 24100001"
    }
    
    array set desc_11.0f {
    0x005d3788 "noencrypt"
    0x0077419c "backdoors"
    }

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    412
    Post on TCF here: http://www.tivocommunity.com/tivo-vb...81#post7833681 indicates that 11.0f is intended to the fix the Tuning Adapter MRV bug. Not sure if any other fixes are included.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    320
    Quick question from an S3 rookie: Is it necessary to always do every upgrade? I have a couple of prom modded S3's that are running just fine right now. Will I have the problems with losing guide data if I don't do the 11.0d -> 11.0f upgrade right away? How long do you usually have to upgrade before problems arise?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    412
    See this thread (link) and this thread (link) for information. Typically, the guide data problems crop up between major releases but not always. One should also be aware not to continually download the new software (wasting server bandwidth). Given what's currently known about this release, you may not experience any problems holding back your unit at 11.0d.

    Once downloaded, the unit will detect the new software during the daily call and schedule a reboot for installation--the so called "pending restart" problem. See this thread (link) for a patch to prevent this and my post here (link) for a more recent version of the patch (which can be more easily ported to 11.0x).

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    3
    Does anyone have the cci patches for 11.0f.N1?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Dougal County
    Posts
    1,014
    Quote Originally Posted by knutsoch View Post
    Does anyone have the cci patches for 11.0f.N1?
    I doubt tivoapp changed much, shouldn't be hard to port them. However, the 'N1' in the software version denotes a 'beta' release, and the true "11.0f" release will probably begin soon. There are often changes made to tivoapp in between these releases, which can result in the patch locations shifting yet again. Unless you're dying for a fix for the TA-MRV issues, or just really love the "early adopter" feeling, I wouldn't even bother with 11.0f-N1.

    That said, I'll port 'em if someone sends me the new tivoapp

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    236
    According to this post: http://www.tivocommunity.com/tivo-vb...81#post7833681 11.0f will be rolling out to everyone by the end of the month.

    According to this post: http://www.tivocommunity.com/tivo-vb...34#post7842134 the rollout is still in the Customer Support Ramp phase and it won't be rolling out to anyone else until it is released.

    It has fixes for the following:

    * SDV pixelation issue
    * S2 units couldn't browse the recordings of an HD model that had a TA attached
    * Antenna stations with mismatched TVCT and PAT table entries have no video
    * Online scheduling not showing current Now Playing and To Do Lists

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    n.h. usa
    Posts
    957
    one of my boxes has upgraded to n1 and the patch is already in my tivoapp to try and stop reboots. .but it is still rebooting nightly to try and install the update.. unfort. that ffs up my caller id s/w which then needs to be rebooted on all the other boxes.. also i dont want to really bother doing the upgrade till i can get all the patches and i most likely will have to do it again when the final release comes out..

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Sonoran Desert
    Posts
    2,823
    Strange it looks as though my tivo isn't even downloading this upgrade:

    Code:
    bash-2.02# mfs_ls /SwSystem
    dir: fsid=5141 count=2
          fsid   type     name
          -----------------------------------
         74757   tyDb     11.0d-01-2-652
         74757   tyDb     ACTIVE
    EDIT: Oh I see it is a phased rollout. Nevermind.
    Last edited by AlphaWolf; 03-31-2010 at 05:11 PM.
    Before PMing me: Iím not your personal tech support. If you have a question, ask in public so I don't have to repeat if somebody else asks. If you want images or slices, use emule. I will ignore all support PMs.

    Sponsor a vegetarian! I have taken the pledge, how about you?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    n.h. usa
    Posts
    957
    i think the final release is out.. 11.0f is gone now it is g... but still only on one box
    ie

    Directory listing of /SwSystem Name Type Id Date Time Size
    11.0d-01-2-648 tyDb 944371 07/16/09 13:43 908
    11.0g-01-2-648 tyDb 1665789 03/31/10 11:24 884
    ACTIVE tyDb 944371 07/16/09 13:43 908

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Dougal County
    Posts
    1,014

    11.0g patches (untested)

    Code:
    11.0g
    0x005d3788 "104000aa 100000aa"	//noencryption
    0x00656c14 "30b000ff 00008021"	//cci1
    0x00656c38 "00e08821 24110000"	//cci2
    0x0077419c "00008021 24100001"	//backdoors
    0x00868c44 "0d293985 00000000"	//nopromos
    0x009bcc54 "12400003 10000003"	//deletethisrecording?
    0x00b92f58 "14400026 10400026"	//30secskip
    0x00b9761c "0c2e60fe 00000000"	//nopauseads
    0x011478e0 "30b000ff 00008021"	//cci3
    Code:
    set sys(11.0g)     [list 0x115ade  0x1157aa  0x6c   0x1bd3e6  32224332  325F14DAA33CC105AD841D8F73E3E67B7A85EDBF]
    Last edited by jt1134; 04-02-2010 at 06:30 PM.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    n.h. usa
    Posts
    957
    thanks anyone have it in dd format yet.. need to go find the offset to remember how to convert.

    also it looks like the locations have changed a lot.. which probably means the buffer edit needs to be changed also?

  13. #13
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    320
    Quote Originally Posted by lgkahn View Post
    thanks anyone have it in dd format yet.. need to go find the offset to remember how to convert.
    Why bother with that, when jt1134 provided it in the proper format for tvapppatch.tcl? That's a heckuva lot simpler than using dd.

    Quote Originally Posted by lgkahn View Post
    also it looks like the locations have changed a lot.. which probably means the buffer edit needs to be changed also?
    The last line in jt1134's post above is the patch to modify bufferhack.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    n.h. usa
    Posts
    957
    Why bother with that, when jt1134 provided it in the proper format for tvapppatch.tcl? That's a heckuva lot simpler than using dd.
    not really for me.. i do in place upgrades and patch the new version of the tivoapp in the new partition b4 i ever reboot..

    did not notice it was buffer hack thanks.. but it appears strange all my other buffer hack lines are longer see the old compared to new below? any ideas?

    set sys(11.0b) [list 0x115e4e 0x115b1a 0x6c 0x1bd402 32140016 325F14DAA33CC105AD841D8F73E3E67B7A85EDBF]
    set sys(11.0c) [list 0x115d82 0x115a4e 0x6c 0x1bd672 32207760 325F14DAA33CC105AD841D8F73E3E67B7A85EDBF]
    set sys(11.0d) [list 0x115d82 0x115a4e 0x6c 0x1bd672 32207760 325F14DAA33CC105AD841D8F73E3E67B7A85EDBF]
    set sys(11.0g) [list 0x115adc 0x1157a8 0x6c 0x1bd3e4 32224332 325F14DAA33CC105AD841D8]


    ok the subtract value ix 0x400000
    if i did my math right and i checked twice here are the dd lines


    echo -ne "\x10\x00\x00\xaa" | dd conv=notrunc of=tivoapp bs=1 seek=1914760
    echo -ne "\x24\x10\x00\x01" | dd conv=notrunc of=tivoapp bs=1 seek=3621276
    echo -ne "\x10\x40\x00\x26" | dd conv=notrunc of=tivoapp bs=1 seek=7941976
    echo -ne "\x00\x00\x80\x21" | dd conv=notrunc of=tivoapp bs=1 seek=2452500
    echo -ne "\x24\x11\x00\x00" | dd conv=notrunc of=tivoapp bs=1 seek=2452536
    echo -ne "\x00\x00\x80\x21" | dd conv=notrunc of=tivoapp bs=1 seek=13924576

    echo -ne "\x00\x00\x00\x00" | dd conv=notrunc of=tivoapp bs=1 seek=7960092
    echo -ne "\x00\x00\x00\x00" | dd conv=notrunc of=tivoapp bs=1 seek=4623428

    echo -ne "\x10\x00\x00\x03" | dd conv=notrunc of=tivoapp bs=1 seek=6016084


    there are in order

    no encr.
    backdoor
    30sec skip
    cci1
    cci2
    cci3
    nopause
    nopromos
    delete this recording?


    I am not sure what "delete this recording" is i have never used it anyone enlighten me? ok figured this out too it is a hack to not have delete this recording pop up.. ok not usingthat ..

    2 of my 3 series 3 boxes are sucessfully upgraded in place and everything seems to work... 3rd box doesnt have new version on it yet.
    Last edited by lgkahn; 04-01-2010 at 09:18 PM.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    n.h. usa
    Posts
    957
    more info the buffer hack seemed to not work the box would hang as soon as i tried to pause live tv... backed it out and it seems to be working ok.. will try again on other box.

    also video on demand screen not working.. told me to force a call in the error message so trying that right now.. will let you know the outcome.

    call to tivo did not resolve the video on demand screen issue.. anyone else have this. maybe new rules in my firewall.. or a call to support is in order.


    rebooted still no go with video on demand screen... box still on old s/w works fine.

    just double checked on the other box and the bufferhack patch is definately bad.. after applying it same as on other box.. when going to live tv and trying to pause it hangs for like minutes.. and even telnet session is hung.
    eventually after about 5 minutes i can get it back to main menu. and telnet in and back out the tivoapp changes and restore the other one and reboot.

    call to tivo (not box calling, but a phone call to support) didnt resolve anything.. wil try again tomarrow but it appears to be a bug.. under music/videos i can stream you tube videos fine.. but the video on demand screen comes up with an error.

    as a side note i have verified that the encryption, 30 sec skip, and back doors hacks are working fine.
    Last edited by lgkahn; 04-01-2010 at 10:52 PM.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •