Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 16 to 21 of 21

Thread: Extending MFS-Tools For the TiVo Premiere (Support Thread)

  1. #16
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Noo Hampsha
    Posts
    738
    Thanks - I'll give this a try when I can. I can sort-of stumble my way around Linux - I don't use it enough (except for doing software development) to know the disk tools.
    Steve

  2. #17
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    38

    Question

    Quote Originally Posted by stevel View Post
    Thanks - I'll give this a try when I can. I can sort-of stumble my way around Linux - I don't use it enough (except for doing software development) to know the disk tools.

    Steve, were you successful in upgrading your THR22's internal drive while maintaining the contents of the original drive? And yeah, I read another post of yours saying your were trying to wean your wife off of the THR22 as you'd just gotten a Genie. The one thing that keeps me with Tivo is the ability for it to record Suggestions.

    Pointers to any how-tos, etc for accomplishing replacement of THR22's internal drive while maintaining original content will be appreciated.


    Cheers,
    Латинские, греческие, и китайские подписи для идиотов.

  3. #18
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Noo Hampsha
    Posts
    738
    No, never succeeded. I did manage to copy the drive but not expand its capacity. I ended up just dropping the idea and stuck a 2TB drive on an HR44.
    Steve

  4. #19
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    3
    Any chance that mfsadd.s4.x86 can be modded further to accomodate drives larger than 2TB and allow expansion beyond 2TB.

  5. #20
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    412
    If you're trying to expand a single premiere drive beyond 2TB, I'll have to check to see where these tools stand.

  6. #21
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    3
    That's exactly what I am doing. I have successfully expanded a 1TB XL drive to 3TB with JMFS. It fails on expanding a 2TB XL4 drive to 3TB. The modified mfsadd does not expand a 2TB XL4 image. Since the Roamio can go to 4TB, I believe the Premieres can go there as well (as long as it has the latest OS) and if the tools can address large drives.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •