Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: Chicago locals gone on 6.2a at 5am

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    25

    Chicago locals gone on 6.2a at 5am

    At 5 am Wednesday the Chicago NBC ABC CBS locals went dark. Attributed to DTVguide data format in other sites and seemingly being rolled out in various markets. I will really hate to lose MRV. I wonder what has been introduced to the data stream (guide data?) so many months/years after 6.4came out that would just now mess up 6.2a? Call me paranoid. I think this is a way to force us off of 6.2a or on to other units that can do "MRV".
    -dwellar

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Noo Hampsha
    Posts
    737
    DirecTV doesn't give a damn about people running old versions. They changed the guide data because they had a business need to do so, and provided a free software update to deal with it. It's unfortunate that TiVo stripped out the MRV code from that update, but that's life. I'm just astonished that they waited this long to actually make the data change.
    Steve

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    14
    I would hate to lose MRV also, but is there a way to upgrade to 6.4? I'd rather lose MRV than lease a new HD box from DTV since I still have a SD TV and am not in a position to buy a new one.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Noo Hampsha
    Posts
    737
    If the slices are in your MFS database you can install those. I also read that DirecTV has asked TiVo to make 6.4a available again - not sure if that has happened yet. This thread gives the general method for upgrading in place and preserving hacks (not MRV), but you will have to locate the appropriate patches for 6.4a.
    Steve

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    72
    I've been thinking about a way to preserve 6.2a on the alternate partition and upgrade to 6.4a on the active partition. When I upgrade, it will flip the root and install 6.4a on the alternate and make it the active (right now 6/7 are my actives with 6.2a, so 6.4a will end up on 3/4). After upgrading, will 6/7 still have 6.2a with all my hacks in place? Would it then be possible to boot back into 6.2a by simply setting the bootpage parameter to make the root /dev/hda7 and flipping the bootpage with "bootpage -f /dev/hda" to make it boot from 6/7?

    If so, I could presumably leave one tivo on 6.2a, and the other could record shows on the local channels with 6.4a, then boot back into 6.2a after recording and transfer those shows to the other 6.2a box using MRV. I basically do this now (without the reboots) because there are too many show conflicts during primetime, so I have one box dedicated to recording major network shows on the local channels and the other handles everything else. This method would work for me as long as 6.2a still gets most of the guide data except a few locals. Thanks.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Florham Park, NJ
    Posts
    187
    Does anyone know where the tivoapp patches are for 6.4a?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    72
    Quote Originally Posted by w2kr View Post
    Does anyone know where the tivoapp patches are for 6.4a?
    This post is the best I've found so far...not sure if there's been an update to NutKase's superpatch-67all, but crashHD's script in the link will work for now.

    Still hoping someone can comment on whether I can still boot into 6.2a on the old, now alternate partition by simply changing the boot parms to that partition and then flipping the bootpage? I'm pretty sure it would work, but I'd rather not do something stupid and have to remove the drive from the tivo to fix stuff, so I'm looking for some assurance that it will be OK to try. Thanks.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Florham Park, NJ
    Posts
    187
    Wouldn't it be great if whatever fixes the local problem on 6.4a could simply be copied to our 6.2a TiVos?
    I'd love to just copy one file instead of going the upgrade route

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    72
    Yeah, I've thought about that too, but it's not going to happen. What's really annoying is that so far, 6.4a has only recovered some of my local channels (FOX, PBS, and spanish channels)...ABC, CBS, and NBC are still blacked out. I'm hoping after the box has some time to acquire more guide data these other channels will show up too...

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    72
    So I tried flipping back to 6.2a on the hda7 partition by using bootpage -P to set the root to /dev/hda7 and then running a bootpage -f to flip it, but when I booted back in, I got an endless reboot cycle. This was at the end of the bootlog from my serial connection:
    Code:
    PokeFirewallPort: Poking hole through firewall at port 2190, protocol tcp
    Illegal read at 00000064
    do_page_fault #2: sending signal 11 to tcphonehome(163)
    $0 : 00000000 0000ffff 7fff68f0 5ee9d954 5ee9d8c4 00000064 5ee9db24 00000000
    $8 : 00000001 ffffffff 00000000 00000000 80c4f8fc 00000010 00000003 8014ed34
    $16: 5ee9d8c4 00000000 7fff7c44 00000000 00403060 5ef2d468 00000000 100b63b8
    $24: 00000000 0139b9a8                   1006dc40 7fff68a0 7f5ff7f0 00727ba4
    Hi : 00000000
    Lo : 00000003
    epc  : 0139b9d0    Not tainted
    Status: a001fc13
    Cause : 00000008
           800c0570 800c058c 800c48a4 800c4bf8 800c6a9c 
           0139b9d0 00727ba4 00673574 0066c474 0066c858 00612ec8 00403090 2acc13fc
          
    Tmk Fatal Error: Thread tcphonehome <163> strayed!
    pc 0x139b9d0 status 0xa001fc13 cause 0x000008 bva 00000000 hi 00000000 lo 0x0000
    03
    R00 0x00000000  R01 0x0000ffff  R02 0x7fff68f0  R03 0x5ee9d954  
    R04 0x5ee9d8c4  R05 0x00000064  R06 0x5ee9db24  R07 0x00000000  
    R08 0x00000001  R09 0xffffffff  R10 0x00000000  R11 0x00000000  
    R12 0x80c4f8fc  R13 0x00000010  R14 0x00000003  R15 0x8014ed34  
    R16 0x5ee9d8c4  R17 0x00000000  R18 0x7fff7c44  R19 0x00000000  
    R20 0x00403060  R21 0x5ef2d468  R22 0x00000000  R23 0x100b63b8  
    R24 0x00000000  R25 0x0139b9a8  R26 0x00000010  R27 0x00000000  
    R28 0x1006dc40  R29 0x7fff68a0  R30 0x7f5ff7f0  R31 0x00727ba4  
    F00 0xffffffffffffffff  F02 0xffffffffffffffff  
    F04 0xffffffffffffffff  F06 0xffffffffffffffff  
    F08 0xffffffffffffffff  F10 0xffffffffffffffff  
    F12 0xffffffffffffffff  F14 0xffffffffffffffff  
    F16 0xffffffffffffffff  F18 0xffffffffffffffff  
    F20 0xffffffffffffffff  F22 0xffffffffffffffff  
    F24 0xffffffffffffffff  F26 0xffffffffffffffff  
    F28 0xffffffffffffffff  F30 0xffffffffffffffff  
    csr 00000000 eir 0x005410
    Paste the following into a shell to get a backtrace...
    
    bt -t /tvbin/tivoapp <<END_OF_BT
      read 0x2aaa8000 /lib/ld.so.1
      read 0x2ab04000 /lib/libutil.so.1
      read 0x2ab48000 /lib/libdl.so.2
      read 0x2ab8c000 /lib/libpthread.so.0
      read 0x2abe8000 /lib/libm.so.6
      read 0x2acb0000 /lib/libc.so.6
      0x0139b9d0 0x00727ba4 0x00673574 0x0066c474 0x0066c858 0x00612ec8 0x00403090 
      0x2acc13fc 
    END_OF_BT
    
    Tmk Fatal Error: Thread tcphonehome <163>: unexpected signal 11
    flushing ide devices: hda 
    Restarting system.
    So apparently, the upgrade process to 6.4a does something to the old partition that prevents it from booting afterwards. I hooked the drive up to a computer and booted into MFSLive to switch the root back to /dev/hda4 and flipped the root back so now it's booting into 6.4a again. Is there any way to work a dual-boot system like I'm after with 6.2a on one partition and 6.4a on the other, and easily flip back and forth?

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Noo Hampsha
    Posts
    737
    I think that there is an irreversible data change in the MFS partition when you change the version.
    Steve

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    25
    Updated to 6.4a using slices (don't remember where I got them). Had to clear data and to-do list in order for the Chicago locals to return. Fairly certain they will not return otherwise. Once locals go away, whatever made them go away is stuck in the guide/to-do data. You need to purge that.
    -dwellar

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •