Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: I want no locals

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    2

    I want no locals

    Hi,

    I don't live in an area where I can get any local channels. I want to remove all the locals from the guide. I modified my channels.dat file and changed all the "2's" to "0's" at the end of each line. That worked, no more locals. My question is, do I even need to run mvchannels.tcl? I have been reading a lot of posts, but I am not sure if I need to run this script or not.

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    731
    You don't need it if you don't want what it adds, which are locals.

    Dennis

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    21
    Well, after I ran mvchannels once, unhiding certain locals, I can't seem to get it so that they are gone forever again after a reboot.

    I tried all the parameters; reset, reload, ect. I can't get them to permenently hide again.

    I can get them to hide again by using mvchannels with channels.dat that has a '0' flag for that channel, but when I reboot they are back. Actually, they will keep popping back unless I loop mvchannels to keep hiding them. This is for multiple cities, not just the city that my access card is allowing. I'm about ready to re-image by disk to get rid of them, unless anyone has any ideas?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    10
    Use Customize Channels to turn off channels in channels I receive. Then set up guide to only show channels I receive (Hit display when showing guide data)

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    lagrange 2
    Posts
    201
    have you rebuilt your channels.dat database? IOW, are you using pre-spot beam info? If so, that is why a reset isn't working for you... dumpall and then reset. If you ran the mvchannels before spot beam but are using a post-spot beam .dat, then revert back and then reset.


    If you are confusing pre- and post-spot beam data, I THINK you will get the problems you've described.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Posts
    1,242
    synthesis

    I believe you need a new main.dat for that to work.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    lagrange 2
    Posts
    201
    whoops- if so, my bad. Never used mvchannels except to reset pre-beam

    in either case, the above should be true, no?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Posts
    1,242
    The main.dat contains channel info from pre spot I am not sure how much info has changed. I believe if you try and run mvchannels reset it crashes

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Posts
    1,242
    I ran it again just to see what would happen. It did not crash but it was unable to reset all the cahnnels. I believe that fsid and other info is incomplete for the spot locals.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    21
    I downloaded a new version of the main.dat file that has the new spotbeam data.

    I've now been able to permenently (even with reboot) re-hide all locals.

    sledge
    Last edited by sledge; 01-01-2002 at 07:18 PM.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    2
    Thanks dsboyce8624,

    I will try and comment it out from the sysinit.rc. I noticed my guide and the whole receiver is much faster now that all the extra locals are gone.

    Thanks for the help

    Geek Boy

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •