Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Questions on powering down a Tivo unit

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    48

    Questions on powering down a Tivo unit

    Is it safe to power down a Tivo at any time without screwing up the system/data?

    If not, is it safe during "Standby" mode? I'm wondering because I still hear the hard drive cranking away during Standby mode.

    I haven't found an "Off" button anywhere ...

    Rick

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Calgary, Ab. Canada
    Posts
    83
    For the record, I did unplug a 6000 in standby mode one time and when I plugged it back in I got the GREEN screen of death.

    It was easy to fix however, I just reloaded my backed up file and rebooted no problem.

    Nigel.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    18
    issuing a restart at the bash prompt, then pulling the plug as soon as powering up message appears on tv has yet to lead me astray. ymmv.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Posts
    1,242
    You can also tell the system to restart with remote.
    Unplug when you see powering up.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    48
    Wow ... This is kinda scary!

    I'd hate to kill my brand-new TiVo so easily. It seems like it would be very susceptible to "death by power outage" as well.

    Right now, I don't have a PC anywhere near my TiVo, and it looks like I need to move it back and forth between my PC and TV to fix my current problem (I'm getting a "You haven't connected successfully to TiVo in 30 days message" after I did a "touch /etc/TestSub" command). I'm sure I'll need a PC terminal for other stuff that I don't even know I need yet ( I'm new to TiVo and this forum).

    I might be able to get an old DOS PC near the TV. Does anyone know where I can find a small (fits on a single bootable floppy) terminal emulator that I can talk to the TiVo with so I don't need to shut it down as often?

    Thanks!

    Rick

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    48
    T_RJ,

    Thanks! I just saw your posting after I replied to an earlier message. I was looking for something like this in the owner's manual, but didn't see it (I was looking for things like "Power Down" or "Shutting Off" in the Index). I found "Resetting the System" on page 95.

    That solves one problem!

    Does anyone have answers for my other two problems? (The "30 days" problem and a floppy disk-based terminal program I can use with the Tivo)?

    Thank you!

    Rick

    Note: The forum search function appears to be disabled, or I would try that route.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Posts
    1,242
    (I'm getting a "You haven't connected successfully to TiVo in 30 days message" after I did a "touch /etc/TestSub" command).

    SubTest not TestSub


    Then force daily call.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    21
    Any DOS terminal program will work fine on a floppy to access bash. Telix is my favorite.

    sledge

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    48
    T_RJ - My bad! I had a typo when I was working from my corrupted and beer-drenched organic memory. I did enter SubTest into the /etc directory. I will try the "Make Daily Call Now" option when I get home from work tonight to see if it works.

    Sledge, I downloaded the telix shareware version for DOS. I'll let you guys know how it goes!

    Thanks again for all the help!

    Rick

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    48
    T_RJ - Your suggestion worked fine (as you probably already suspected). Thanks again for your help!

    Sledge - I haven't tried Telix yet, I'm trying to get it to fit on a single floppy. Will try tomorrow.

    Rick

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •