Thread: bootable cd for mfstools

35 bootable cd for mfstools

Hi I'm an olddude but a newbie at all this. I'm preparing to do a backup and install on a dsr6000 and I've gotten the instructions from Hinsdale but my problem is I don't know anything about Linux and I don't know how to create a bootable cd. What I tried was using nero and I copied the iso from Kazymyrs latest boot cd image. I followed all the instructions and also tried different master/ slave combinations and made sure my bios was looking for the cd as a bootable device but everything I did had no affect and I would just boot into my normal windows system. I am running windows ME with an AMD processor with raid on the motherboard. (I am not using the raid function). Can anyone tell me what I am doing wrong or how a bootable cd is supposed to work.
    I've been a mainframer for years and have been into pc's for a couple of years. My son got me interested in this stuff and I've been having a ball cruising around learning all this stuff. Any help would be appreciated for this 'slow' guy

Exerything you can do with Kazymyrs boot CD is available on the 25xtreme cd no need to creat both.

Now creating the 25xtreme or the Kazymyrs cd.
    Stop using Nero there are plenty of posts regarding problems with Nero. Use Roxio Cd Creator 5.

Once you have the cd's made use the onboard ide take the raid card out.

Make your primary drive (Windoz) Primary Master make your cd drive primary slave. Make your TiVo A drive secondary master and if you have a TiVo B drive make it secondary slave.

Make sure you set in the bios that the cd Drive is the first boot device.

Follow Hinsdale how to from there.

Thanks for your suggestion.
    I finally got a boot cd made with nero when I used the 'burn image' option under files.
    I followed all your instructions and did the following..