Thread: Prom Utility

Prom Utility

Are there any exsisting tools to dowload and or backup your current prom before upgrading to xtreme25?

I have never done it, before my time. But I believe you can use getprom.

BubbaJ would know for sure.

Dennis

Well, the PROM file that is in the PROM before the upgrade resides in the directory, so just copy that file as your backup. However, it really does not matter since if you screw up the PROM, you aint gonna be able to restore it easily anyway.

So you are saying that the prom file resides on the hard disk? That doesn't make much sense unless it writes the file to the hard disk before writing it to the prom?????

There is a line in rc.sysinit that loads the prom each time the machine boots. When new software is installed on the TIVO, part of the install copies a new prom image to /prom/TiVoProm.bin. After the unit reboots rc.sysinit installs the new prom code.

Since the prom controls booting of the tivo, if it gets trashed you would have to use jtag or some other hardware method for reloading the prom. Not something for the faint of heart.

There is no current publicly available method for recovering from a trashed prom.

Digitz

Thank you. If understand correctly, the file TivoProm.bin is a copy of what is physically located on the prom?

If this is the case, all I should have to do is copy this file as a backup and I could restore the prom by using getprom???

Thanks

There is a line in rc.sysinit that loads the prom each time the machine boots. When new software is installed on the TIVO, part of the install copies a new prom image to /prom/TiVoProm.bin. After the unit reboots rc.sysinit installs the new prom code.

Since the prom controls booting of the tivo, if it gets trashed you would have to use jtag or some other hardware method for reloading the prom. Not something for the faint of heart.

There is no current publicly available method for recovering from a trashed prom.

proms (not the dance)