Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: New Hughes G-BOT...BIG PROBLEM???

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    6

    Question New Hughes G-BOT...BIG PROBLEM???

    I have a friend(newbie) who purchased a new Hughes and was trying to install the 25xtreme. I gave him the copy I downloaded and he installed the 40GB drive from the RCVR and booted all the way to the LINUX prompt "/#". This is what he gets right before the "/#" prompt.

    mount: block device/dev/hdd is write-protected, mounting read-only
    mount: No medium found

    When he enters "25xtreme" (no quotes) he receives:

    sh:25xtreme: command not found

    NOW........he removed the drive and formatted it from fdisk. And still he gets the same messages. I think he might have fried the TIVO drive. Is there anything he can do to the drive now??? He is at work and I am at home with his drive so I am his tivo bitch today. I too am somewhat of a newbie to 25xtreme but have been testing for a couple of years. Any help would be greatly appreciated. I have read multiple posts but didn't find anything specific to his problem. Thanks in advance.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Posts
    1,243
    Are you using a scsi cdrom?

    If so search the forum for scsi I don't rember what thread it was in but there has been some disscussion regarding scsi cd roms

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    6
    NO....just the standard installed in my computer. It boots all the way to the Linux prompt then that is when it has problems as stated above.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    North Carolina
    Posts
    26

    i had the same problem

    I had the EXACT same problem, trying to remember how I fixed it.

    Seems like it had something to do with the way my drives were connected to the controllers (primary master, slave, secondary, etc.). I have 2 CD drives on my machine (a DVD and a CDR). What was happening was that it was trying to mount a CD drive as a regular hard drive (hdd in your case). Hence the read-only comment, since a CD can only be mounted read-only.

    Seems like what I had to do was to unhook the DVD drive, and leave just the CD hooked up, but I don't remember what I had it hooked up as on the IDE controller.

    hope that helps......

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Posts
    457
    Also, for the command not found thing... I think there is uppercase lettering in the name... Remember that linux (like Unix) is VERY case sensitive.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    172
    Keep in mind that FDISK is a DOS/Windows utility, and will not see or allow you to alter linux partitions.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    9

    kbigfeather

    If you were able to format the drive then there is nothing wrong with it. Check your cabling and jumpers.

    Happend to me one time, I forgot to connect power to the drive.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    6

    Thanks eBruce

    Thanks alot, that was exactly my problem. I disconnected my DVD drive and used my cdr drive to boot it came up and "bam" worked. I installed the touch at the bash and now have lifetime sub. Thanks to all for the help. Now, I just have to master the local installations.....any help as to where to start or I will just start reading. Thanks again, this forum rocks!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    39

    Maybe I can help

    oops

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •