Page 1 of 10 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 144

Thread: Ccc - Free Tivo 2.5g Files

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    ohio
    Posts
    78

    Ccc - Free Tivo 2.5g Files

    This is the rc.sysinit file from the CCC modified tivo FreeTiVo V2.5g

    If anyone is interested in any other files from this image.


    We took out our serial number out of this file. If you search for the following you will see where we took it out. Other than that it is exactly the same as the one we are using.

    Search for XXX-XXXX-XXXX-XXXX

    The serial number was in there with no hyphens...
    like this XXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

    If you have any questions or comments please let me know.

    JQ

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    ohio
    Posts
    78
    oops... here is the file

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Posts
    314
    exelent!!! i will be contacting you for more files from that unit.. i want to gwet to the botom of this.. yipee! new project!
    -= Glitched =-

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Posts
    314
    at first glance it appears the have just removed all commenting (its ok, i dont need it ), and also removed some "Non-nessasary" for a hacked box things, like modem check(we dont use the modem, if using fixup) also he has added /var/hack to the path(which i did think of before, just never looked into how to do it) thanks CCC

    this is just after a 2 min quick skim.. ill report further after i go through the entire file. but this does give me some good ideas on things to add.
    -= Glitched =-

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    ohio
    Posts
    78

    Things we have tried with image

    We backup the image with MFSTOOLS and restored the image to a 40gig hd. We replaced the orginal drive with the restored drive and the unit worked the same as the orginal. Although, we upgraded a brand new tivo to 2.5 and tried the restored drive and it would boot to a FreeTivo splash and then reboot. We noticed today after examining it furthur that the rc.sysinit file has the unit serial number(as stated above in the first post). Later today I will change the unit serial number in the restored hard drive and put it in the new tivo and see if it works.

    I am more than happy to lift files off the drive and send them to email address or post them on this site. I just need to know which files you would like to see. I am using linux to copy them to floppy and then sending them from their. Is there an easier way to accomplish this. Can you get a bash prompt in linux like on the tivo? If so how is this accomplished? It would be much easier to use ZModem versus floppy.

    Thanks,

    JQ

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    ohio
    Posts
    78

    RC.SYSINIT

    GLITCHED.....


    THE ONLY THING WE EDITED WAS THE PART I NOTED ABOVE. WE TOOK OUT HIS UNITS SERIAL NUMBER. THE COMMENTING WAS REMOVED BY CCC I GUESS.

    IF YOU EMAIL ME WITH FILES YOU WOULD LIKE TO SEE I WILL SEND THEM TO YOU. IT'S FASTER THAT WAY!

    THANKS

    JQ

    sorry for the caps..... very busy and didn't notice...
    Last edited by jquest1234; 01-10-2002 at 04:06 PM.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Posts
    3,108
    could you upload the contents of the hack/intro directory? its not imperitive, but im curious as to what they are displaying when the unit power's on. i also notice that the unit will reset itself automatically when the serial bash prompt is closed

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    2

    30 BASH Prompt

    JQ,

    Can you get into the console via the serial port?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Posts
    39

    Re: Things we have tried with image

    Disregard.. wasnt reading carefully - need coffee
    Last edited by hinsdale; 01-10-2002 at 03:50 PM.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    730
    I'd like access to the whole damned image, if possible.

    Dennis

    PS - Glitched, I need you to get a hold of me.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    ohio
    Posts
    78

    Intro Directory as requested

    Intro Directory as requested

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Posts
    3,108
    ok, i did a full compare of my rc.sysinit to theirs, and there were only a few basic differences:

    1) doesnt load fan.o, presumably since fancontrol isnt used
    2) gets rid of fixmodem function and call
    3) gets rid of sysgen
    4) eliminates all comments and echos, except for the header.
    5) eliminates log5505toSerial
    6) eliminates syslog
    7) eliminates promupdate check
    8) adds: IRvers=`irtest -t /dev/ttyS0 -V`

    9) adds:
    export PromNumber="XXX-XXXX-XXXX-XXXX"
    if [ $SerialNumber == $PromNumber ]; then
    echo "Update IRD serial number"
    else
    /sbin/restart
    fi

    10) deletes the /var/log dir, recreates it, then copies some stuff to it.
    11) adds a bunch of text2osd calls at the end, presumably to show some lame "hAx0R3D 8y CCC" or something
    12) changed osdwriter calls to display their custom graphics.
    13) enabled bash over serial, and set the system to reboot if bash is closed.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    ohio
    Posts
    78

    Speed Boot Prom Hack

    Is there a way to capture his prom from the unit modified by CCC?

    If so I will capture it. I have been asking for a while but no one seems to know or willing share.

    JQ

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    ohio
    Posts
    78
    9) adds:
    export PromNumber="XXX-XXXX-XXXX-XXXX"
    if [ $SerialNumber == $PromNumber ]; then
    echo "Update IRD serial number"
    else
    /sbin/restart
    fi


    This line is what prompted us to think that if our test above caused the reset. Since the new tivo with the restored hard drive didn't match the serial number of the tivo so it

    else
    /sbin/restart

    JQ

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Posts
    39
    Originally posted by jquest1234
    9) adds:
    export PromNumber="XXX-XXXX-XXXX-XXXX"
    if [ $SerialNumber == $PromNumber ]; then
    echo "Update IRD serial number"
    else
    /sbin/restart
    fi


    This line is what prompted us to think that if our test above caused the reset. Since the new tivo with the restored hard drive didn't match the serial number of the tivo so it

    else
    /sbin/restart

    JQ
    comment out these lines in the rcsysinit and see if it boots for you.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •