Page 7 of 10 FirstFirst ... 56789 ... LastLast
Results 91 to 105 of 144

Thread: Ccc - Free Tivo 2.5g Files

  1. #91
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    64
    I am work now and i just cut a serial cable and a speaker cable and hooked them up like in the how to's. I was looking for a how to get the bash prompt form the tivo drive connected to the serial port? what programs do i need? i take it z modem. i am runnning windows xp. I am going to install the tivo drive back into tivo and just power it up connected to just the computer. can i transfer the rc.sysinit file like that? or should i do it while the hd is connected to the computer and use linux?

    Thanks,
    chris

  2. #92
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Posts
    314
    yeah.. i just patched in the "surgeons sub-test" figureed that would be sufficient...

    hint, hint the last few lines of the rc.sysinit....

    which brings about the question of "since CCC makes no call to fixup in rc.sysinit (they dont, i checked again) how do THEY have fixup set to run?"
    -= Glitched =-

  3. #93
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    ohio
    Posts
    78

    fixsub.tcl

    Thanks... I will load run this script in the rc.sysinit.

    JQ

  4. #94
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    730
    They renamed it hack.tcl

    Dennis

  5. #95
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Posts
    314
    well.. they can name it whatever they like, my point being it isnt called from rc.sysinint anywhere
    -= Glitched =-

  6. #96
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    214
    I think you will find that it is being called by /tvbin/tcl/tv/TClient-lib.itcl.

    I'll check this evening and confirm if someone else hasn't by then.

  7. #97
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    730
    Yeah goober!


  8. #98
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Posts
    314
    hahahaa ... yeah, thats what i was suspecting also StanSimmons
    -= Glitched =-

  9. #99
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    ohio
    Posts
    78

    fixsub.tcl or TClient-lib.itcl

    I think stan is correct about the tivo sub. I also think that the serial number call we removed from the rc.sysinit is tied in somehow. I don't get a tivo sub without it. When I put in my own serial number in place of the XXX-XXXX-XXXX-XXX i get the subscription information.

    CCC says to boot your dtivo and make the call three times or so
    until it errors out then it gives you an option for sales and marketing -- you select that and follow the steps and your done.. no more phone calls..

    Anyways.. wish I had more time to mess with this.. maybe this weekend.. good luck

    jq

  10. #100
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    ohio
    Posts
    78

    CCC TClient-lib.itcl

    CCC TClient-lib.itcl

  11. #101
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    214
    jquest,

    You sent TClient.itcl not TClient-lib.itcl.

  12. #102
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    64
    Okay now i am lost with this tclient.txt. Ber with me i am sorry. I am a newbie just trying to learn. I made a copy of my ccc image. restored it to a new unit never turned on before. Now when i try and copy rc.sysinit.txt to the new tivo unit( i guess now i am going to do tclient) i use these commmands and get no file by that name
    mkdir /mnt/td
    mount /dev/hdc4 /mnt/td where hdc is my tivo drive on secondary master
    cp /mnt/dos/rcsysini.txt /mnt/td/etc/rc.d/rc.sysinit

    where am i going wrong. i downloaded the file to my root and did not open it in windows.

    Thanks,
    chris

  13. #103
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    64
    Okay same as above post but tried to substitue rcsysini with tclient.txt. still no file by that name found. But when i boot back windows it is there in my root. the drive i am using is an old windows 95 machine

    Thanks,
    chris

  14. #104
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    out of space
    Posts
    1,880

    Chris

    I guess you have mounted the DOS HD and it is FAT or FAT32? If you don't know, boot windoze 95 and check the properties for the drive.
    Do a
    ls /mnt/dos
    in linux to make sure the file is there. Don't do anything with that TClient file. When you enter linux commands make sure you observe the upper/lower case, because linux is case sensitive.

  15. #105
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    64
    zap your right i just checked the properties page and it is FAT. can i copy it to a floppy and then
    mkdir /foo
    mount /dev/fd0 /foo
    cp /foo/rcsysini.txt /mnt/hdc

    is that the right command?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •