Page 9 of 10 FirstFirst ... 78910 LastLast
Results 121 to 135 of 144

Thread: Ccc - Free Tivo 2.5g Files

  1. #121
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    So. Cali
    Posts
    11
    jquest1234 glad to hear that you figured it out. I propose a solution to the people who do not have a copy of the CCC image, what if 30 of us each pitch in $10 to get jquest1234 to purchase a copy of the CCC image therefore allowing him to post it along with the how-to posted above or a more detailed how-to. Or jquest1234 maybe you can work out a deal with your buddy that will allow you to post the image. Afterall it doesn't make since to purchase another CCC copy when your buddy already has one. Does anyone else have the CCC image posted somewhere? Regardless I would like a copy of the CCC image. How about it guys? jquest1234 would you be interested in such a project? I'm willing to put $10 in, is anyone else? Just a thought.
    Last edited by Tivo4free; 01-16-2002 at 06:02 AM.

  2. #122
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    2

    Showcase/mag on CCC

    Zap,

    When you access the Showcase / Mag options you get the message "will be available in 3 days"

    CBR

  3. #123
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    ohio
    Posts
    78

    Tivo Magazine

    The tivo magazine says it will be available in the next three days on both the CCC modified unit and the copied unit.

    JQ

    P.S.

    We need to start a new thread soon.. only 14 replys left!

    Last edited by jquest1234; 01-16-2002 at 11:54 AM.

  4. #124
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    out of space
    Posts
    1,880
    I wonder if, with the ccc image, you are still getting the daily service data downloads? These contain the showcases/magazine data but just take up space since they are never activated because of no phone call. Go to System Info and you can see. One of the features ccc hypes is that service updates are blocked and if the daily downloads are happening ... well they're just blowing some smoke and it's not the good kind.
    I still don't see any advantage to using the ccc hack.

  5. #125
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    ohio
    Posts
    78

    Service Data

    It says SERVICE DATA UNAVAILABLE. Does this mean it's not downloading the data ? Does anyone know in which directory the service downloads are stored?

    JQ
    Last edited by jquest1234; 01-16-2002 at 02:03 PM.

  6. #126
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    out of space
    Posts
    1,880
    I believe SERVICE DATA UNAVAILABLE means that the daily service data downloads are not occuring. On the v2.5Xtreme image this will show a Last/Successful date-time, Attempt date-time, Status (which for me is Completed). If this is the case, then maybe the ccc image does have an advantage over v2.5Xtreme other than just the logs cleanup. The service data is stored in the MFS and therefore is hard to locate (for me at least). I think chipster might want to do some analysis on the ccc image.

    Since the service data downloads are believed to allow future software upgrades, it is important that these be disabled. The downloads for now only contain showcases/magazines, which may be causing MFS space to be used and recording capacity to be reduced.
    Last edited by superzap; 01-16-2002 at 02:19 PM.

  7. #127
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Posts
    242
    .
    I believe SERVICE DATA UNAVAILABLE means that the daily service data downloads are not occuring. On the v2.5Xtreme image this will show a Last/Successful date-time, Attempt date-time, Status (which for me is Completed). If this is the case, then maybe the ccc image does have an advantage over v2.5Xtreme other than just the logs cleanup.

    I built mine from scratch and mine says "None available" also

    So I am not sure that it is anything extra special that they have done.

  8. #128
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    out of space
    Posts
    1,880

    newlooper

    I think you are correct. But I have a couple of DTiVos that were built manually by phone call downloads and they are still downloading daily showcases/mags. Can you describe how you built yours and from which sources?

  9. #129
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Posts
    242
    superzap

    I think the key is, and you can check me if I am wrong, but, I am running a script that does not allow channel 100. From what I can see, that is where the downloads come from. If there is no 100, no downloads!

    It is just a theory, so I would like your opinion please. Other than that, I built it manually, probably much like yours.

  10. #130
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Sonoran Desert
    Posts
    2,829
    jquest1234:

    Have you looked around at the internals of your friends tivo for any physical hardware modifications? I am wondering if the CCC guy isolated/jumpered any contacts to physicaly write protect the prom at all.

  11. #131
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Posts
    314
    jumpered prom was my first question abou the CCC hack.... but he swears there is no hardware modification. Ill tell you my only mystery.. bubbaJ, this i aimed at you (wink wink) what would not loading oslink do? because thats what they do at CCC.

    P.S. runnning eric2040's tivotitle.tcl script, i get a weird thing, THIS..

    i just dont understand why i get this in my now playing using that script

    Title : TiVo Service Data
    Episode :
    Description: Broadcast of data to keep your TiVo Service up to date.
    fsid : 22396

    but ill gaurente(deffinatly spelled wrong) one thing, this IS NOT in my now playing......

    wondering if anyone else got this?
    Last edited by Glitched; 01-21-2002 at 11:41 AM.
    -= Glitched =-

  12. #132
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Posts
    3,108
    what do you mean they aren't loading oslink?

    Code:
    4)
    	echo "Installing both oslink (tuners $tuner1:$tuner2)"
    	irmicrofile='/sbin/irbmicro.hex'
    	insmod /lib/modules/oslink.o
    	cat $tunerboot1 > /dev/oslink
    	cat $tunerboot2 > /dev/oslink2
    	;;
    esac
    thats from the posted copy of the rc.sysinit from the 'freetivo' from ccc

  13. #133
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Posts
    889
    If you didn't install the .btls, your tivo would not get TV..

  14. #134
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    ohio
    Posts
    78

    CCC Hacked SAT T60 Dtivo Unit

    We looked over the unit with a fine tooth comb. We couldn't find any hardware modifications. I guess, if it would please everyone, we could take a picture of the inside of the unit.

    JQ

  15. #135
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Posts
    314
    i must be mistaken.. there was one important (looked important tome) module that CCC wasnt loading, let me look t it agagin, and report back with more concrete evidence, pulled oslink off the top of my head, was 99% sure thats what it was, although it obviously was not...
    -= Glitched =-

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •