Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 31 to 45 of 54

Thread: Dtivo Video extraction, splitting, and muxing - Scripts, programs, and How-to's only

  1. #31
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    1

    Post Re: DTiVo to DVD perl script for MacOSX (v0.4)

    Noxin,

    Excellent script. I've used it a couple times and find it a very easy way to extract programs from my DTiVo.

    I do however have a suggestion. On or about line 151, the script expects that tydemux will return an A/V offset that is early. I'm referring to the following:

    [snip]
    $indexofoffset = index($demuxout,"early use -O");
    $indexofoffset = $indexofoffset + 12;
    $offset = substr($demuxout,$indexofoffset);
    [/snip]

    Unfortunately, for some of my programs, tydemux returns an A/V offset that is late, i.e.: "A/V Sync Offset: -06ms (i.e. audio plays 006ms late use -O 006 in mplex)"

    This causes the script to pass a bad offset to mplex and the process is broken from that point on. To fix this, I changed line 151 to disregard the early/late portion and use "use -O" instead. It's still a unique portion of the line so index() should still work as such:

    $indexofoffset = index($demuxout,"use -O");
    $indexofoffset = $indexofoffset + 7;
    $offset = substr($demuxout,$indexofoffset);

    I ran a couple tests and this seems to do the trick.
    Last edited by Yzo; 08-04-2003 at 01:53 PM.

  2. #32
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    4,809

    TyTool FAQ released...

    A FAQ with detailed information about installation and basic usage for TyTool has been created and posted both here on DealDB at http://www.dealdatabase.com/forum/sh...581#post156581.

    It can also be found on the www.TyTool.com website.

    For any initial questions etc... Please refer to the FAQ first, before posting or PM'ing.

    --jdiner

  3. #33
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    18

    Guide: DVD From the S1 SA

    Okay, well, the original post says DTiVo, but there are no current guides for the standalones and no other guide stickies, so here we stand. This guide can also apply to the DTiVos somewhat, but it has only been tested on a PTV100.

    The original purpose was to capture video from VHS using the TiVo, but it can apply to any situation where your video source is of poor quality, such as distant or overlapping stations in fringe areas, crummy cable service providers, etc.

    As usual, if anyone has suggestions, feel free to send me a PM.

    What is needed:


    TyTool 10r4
    mfs-utils 2006-05-03
    tivopart 2004-05-30
    A Linux distro such as MFS Tools or Fedora Core MFS Tools already has fs-utils and tivopart built in, so you can skip those if you go that route.
    bbTOOLS v1.9
    VideoReDo v2.2.1.445
    Audacity if you want to clean up crummy tape hiss or motor noise, etc[/URL]
    Toolame 0.2k to reencode from Audacity
    IfoEdit v0.971

    1. Put the TiVo drive into your work machine. If you've never done this before, read the Hinsdale Howto and BACK THAT THING UP FIRST!!!

    To Be Continued . . .

  4. #34
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    2
    The name of this thread is:

    Dtivo Video extraction, splitting, and muxing - Scripts, programs, and How-to's only

    The first few are about Dtivo, but the rest get into TyTool and stand alone stuff.

    PLEASE -- I have .ty files on my computer that I can't do anything with. How do I make movies out of them? Do I transfer via another method to convert them strait into .mpg's? (I keep getting an error about the first 10 blocks).

    From what I am getting...I have to get my DTIVO to stop encrypting the movies, then I can use TyTool to move the stream, then convert it to .mpg.
    Is this correct?

    tks

  5. #35
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Fort Worth
    Posts
    190
    Yes. So, read http://dealdatabase.com/forum/showthread.php?t=31213 and then move-on with Tytool.

  6. #36
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    2
    If you are an S2 user with Software Version 6.2, type this command:

    Code:
    echo -ne "\x3C\x02\x00\x00" | dd conv=notrunc of=tivoapp bs=1 seek=10705308


    So, I am not uploading any more hack code, just editing existing TIVO code (after making a backup copy), right?

  7. #37
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    7
    Quote Originally Posted by xlthim63 View Post
    If you are an S2 user with Software Version 6.2, type this command:

    Code:
    echo -ne "\x3C\x02\x00\x00" | dd conv=notrunc of=tivoapp bs=1 seek=10705308


    So, I am not uploading any more hack code, just editing existing TIVO code (after making a backup copy), right?

    anyone know how to turn the encryption off for version 6.3d-01-2-357?

  8. #38
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Dougal County
    Posts
    1,014

  9. #39
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    7
    that threads does not deal with my version of 6.3d at all.

    I'll ask again...has anyone turned off encryption with 6.3d?

  10. #40
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Dougal County
    Posts
    1,014
    Yes it does. The patch locations for 6.3d are the same as a, b, and c.

    Notice from that thread : Nocso (courtesy of 7.1 -- for ALL 6.3 versions)
    The only thing it doesn't apply to is the new 6.3e software.

    So, to answer your question: has anyone turned off encryption with 6.3d?
    Yes, I have. And I linked you to the info I used.
    Last edited by jt1134; 08-11-2007 at 07:46 PM.

  11. #41
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    7
    Quote Originally Posted by jt1134 View Post
    Yes it does. The patch locations for 6.3d are the same as a, b, and c.

    Notice from that thread : Nocso (courtesy of 7.1 -- for ALL 6.3 versions)
    The only thing it doesn't apply to is the new 6.3e software.

    So, to answer your question: has anyone turned off encryption with 6.3d?
    Yes, I have. And I linked you to the info I used.
    I respect your opinion and I tried and it said my version was not supported
    Last edited by jordan13402g; 08-11-2007 at 08:25 PM.

  12. #42
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Dougal County
    Posts
    1,014
    Quote Originally Posted by jordan13402g View Post
    I tried and it said my version was not supported
    I assume this means you tried superpatch. You'll need to update that script with the latest patch to use it with any 6.3 flavor. Here's a command line patch based on the info cheer posted :
    Code:
    mount -o remount,rw /
    mv tivoapp tivoapp.orig
    cp tivoapp.orig tivoapp
    chmod 755 tivoapp
    echo -ne "\x3c\x02\x00\x00" | dd conv=notrunc of=tivoapp bs=1 seek=1602412
    sync
    mount -o remount,ro /
    reboot
    See this post for good info : http://dealdatabase.com/forum/showth...nfo#post193286

  13. #43
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    7
    Quote Originally Posted by jt1134 View Post
    I assume this means you tried superpatch. You'll need to update that script with the latest patch to use it with any 6.3 flavor. Here's a command line patch based on the info cheer posted :
    Code:
    mount -o remount,rw /
    mv tivoapp tivoapp.orig
    cp tivoapp.orig tivoapp
    chmod 755 tivoapp
    echo -ne "\x3c\x02\x00\x00" | dd conv=notrunc of=tivoapp bs=1 seek=1602412
    sync
    mount -o remount,ro /
    reboot
    See this post for good info : http://dealdatabase.com/forum/showth...nfo#post193286
    so do this and thats all?

  14. #44
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Dougal County
    Posts
    1,014
    Yep. All that will do is disable encryption on new recordings.

  15. #45
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    7
    tried it but it said it couldnt find the tivoapp file....is there a particular directory I need to be in? like /var/hack?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •