Page 2 of 6 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast
Results 16 to 30 of 77

Thread: playing mp3 audio on DTivo

  1. #16
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Posts
    126

    bump

    bump

  2. #17
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Natick, MA
    Posts
    34

    Thumbs up

    So I'm about 95% done testing a module for tivoweb-tcl (that's the httpd-tt.tcl web server) that makes MP3 playback a piece of cake. Although I'd like to see it in the "real" Tivo onscreen menus eventually, this is a first step. It appears to work perfectly, but I just want to test out a few edge cases. And I'm getting my mp3's via a nfs mount, so the files don't have to sit right on the Tivo. I should have something ready hopefully sometime today for those of you who want to beta it...

    Derek

  3. #18
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    23
    this is pretty damn exciting, ][ronman. nice work. i anxiously await to hear how things work out.

  4. #19
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Posts
    126

    awesome...

    Now all we need is an on screen web browser (integrated into tivo menu) and we are set.

    Since the release of the tivonet, has anyone seen a project to try to make a tivo a webtv also?

    is there an xfree86 config file for composite video out as the video card ? :-)

  5. #20
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Posts
    889
    linux fb woukd work with some hacking.

  6. #21
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Posts
    250
    Would work, I guess. But the tivo's frame buffer is a dog.

  7. #22
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    32

    or.......

    howbout we squeeze a small web browser in there
    and have it access another server runing apache with
    mod_mp3, now that'd be cool.
    May this night carry my will
    And may these old mountains forever remember this night
    May the forest whisper my name
    And may the storm bring these words to the end of all worlds

  8. #23
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Posts
    889
    There's no way around the tediious use of the FB, it has to run through the mpeg decoder.

  9. #24
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Natick, MA
    Posts
    34

    Talking TivoWeb MP3 Module v0.9beta

    OK. The first public beta of my Tivo Web MP3 module addon is here. I'll attach it as a .ZIP file, as well as a .tgz (renamed .txt for forum purposes). Read the README file for installation instructions.

    Derek

  10. #25
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Natick, MA
    Posts
    34

    and the .tgz version

    Here's the .tgz version (renamed .txt for the forum):

  11. #26
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Natick, MA
    Posts
    34

    Question Verdict?

    So I was away skiing for an extra long weekend. I see a bunch of people dowloaded the module, but no responses in the thread... Any comments, suggestions, bugs, etc?

    Derek

  12. #27
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Natick, MA
    Posts
    34

    Question Tivo Menus

    So obviously no one had any comments, but I have another question. Has anyone successfully added a menu to the Tivo? Kind of a necessity if I want to port my web-based stuff to menus. Thanks...

    Derek

  13. #28
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    60
    Yes, there has been successful GUI creations on Tivo's, take a look at this thread-- http://www.dealdatabase.com/forum/sh...&threadid=9340

    r

  14. #29
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Sonoran Desert
    Posts
    2,829
    surfing the net on a tivo? interesting, but seeing as how slow the guide is, I wouldnt bank on it being pretty :P
    Before PMing me: Iím not your personal tech support. If you have a question, ask in public so I don't have to repeat if somebody else asks. If you want images or slices, use emule. I will ignore all support PMs.

    Sponsor a vegetarian! I have taken the pledge, how about you?

  15. #30
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Natick, MA
    Posts
    34
    Alphawolf,
    I'm not porting a web-browser, but rather my TivoWeb MP3 player module.

    r00g,
    Yes, but they've added their own GUI, not simply added a menu to the Tivo GUI. I'd like to add my own menu off of the main Tivo menu. Unless I'm mistaken, I don't believe anyone has done this yet.

    -Derek

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •