Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Tivo video server/client

Tivo video server/client

I started a thread over at avs about a local video server for series 1 tivos. In effect, turning the tivo's into clients.

It involved PlayBack, playitsam and some manual playback methods.

TheDoctor was even posting about a new version of PlayBack!

Let's just say that I was asked not to go into any details on how to do some of these things, and that the discussion of the extraction of even raw tystreams was against the wishes of the managment.

As the next logical step in the disscussion was how to do some of these things, it could not continue there.

Thats why I'm here.

Shall we continue here?

I'm no expert, but I'll try this weekend to post some details and how to's. As some of the folks here are way beyond me, I ask you guys to keep an eye on this thread, correct me where I'm wrong and if you have any ideas or comments, Please join in!!!!

Thanks!

jmoak

Lay it on me, I'm ready to see the light.

g

here we go!

on second thought, the beginning of this might be better suited for a newbie forum. I hope this gets a little more in depth as we go along. mods? whadoyathink?

I was hoping we could build a ui around some of the software out there, but that actually may already be in development somewhere around here....

To start with, I'm going to assume that you have a standalone, a tivonet and a connection to another machine.(nfs, samba/ win, linux, etc..)

You can play mpegs on the tivo (mpeg 1 or 2), if you can de-mux them into separate audio/video files. There are a few programs out there that can do this easily. Tmpeg and MPEG2VCR are two, for example. You can also use the raw m2a/m2v files that ExtractStream gives you.

The hardware on the tivo is surprizingly robust. It has not failed to play any mpeg1 or 2 files I've thrown at it.

I use to shutdown myworld completely as the first step in playing a file, but embeem says: