Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: tivomad errors while runnig 2.5extreme boot disk on dsr6k upgrade

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    8

    tivomad errors while runnig 2.5extreme boot disk on dsr6k upgrade

    i cracked open my virgin 2.xx dsr6k to upgrade the unit to a 40 gb (original quantum) + 80 gb maxtor .. using 2.5 extreme, i encountered the following errors when running the tivomad portion of the boot disk

    (FYI - the maxtor was surfaced scanned, unlocked, and acoustic mgmt applied, pc recognizes both drives as 40+80 respectively)

    here is the logging info while running tivomad from the 2.5 extreme disk:

    inactive kernel partition /dev/hdc3
    inactive root partition /dev/hdc4

    0+54 records in
    64+0 records out

    /maddb4/setupcd.sh: line 186
    229 Broken pipe cat /maddtb4/v2 root.gz
    230 | gzip -dc
    231 terminated | dd of=$Inactiveroot bs=1024k

    failed to create root partition
    exit code was 143

    as a matter of note - i am not a linux expert so the only tools i have to work with are the 2.5 disk, dylan's boot disk and the hinsdale cd

    any help would be appreciated as i have no clue what happened during the tivomad portion ..

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    41
    add more memory, I ran into the same type of errors and increased the memory on the machine to 128 Mg and the errors went away.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    24

    Worth a try

    Here' what worked for me:

    Put the 80GB drive as the master and the 40GB as the slave. Run 25xtreme.

    Don't forget to answer "no" to the question: "is your tivo drive over 140GB."

    Good Luck!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    26
    Hey there dtvtivouser,

    Did you ever solve this problem? What was the fix. I've been getting this exact same problem for the past several hours. I've reconfigured as much as I can imagine, and still not having success.

    I'd appreciate an update if you could add one.

    Thanks,
    Taq

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    8
    Originally posted by Taquita
    Hey there dtvtivouser,

    Did you ever solve this problem? What was the fix. I've been getting this exact same problem for the past several hours. I've reconfigured as much as I can imagine, and still not having success.

    I'd appreciate an update if you could add one.

    Thanks,
    Taq
    tivomad runs ahead of the expansion/b-drive blessing routine .. so i just said no .. let the program run .. and then got blessed ....

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    26
    Thank you! I figured it out after posting the question. I was making the same mistake. Running tivomad when I didn't need to.

    Thanks for the reply.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •